Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Lovely, fudgey cookies. I used raisins instead of chocolate chips. I will make these again. Husbie wasn't so crazy about them, but he doesn't care for oats or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
AWESOME..YUMMY..SPECTACULAR! Every one and I mean EVERYONE loves these cookies! I have to give them away because I end up eating all of them. :o( Try making them bite-size for a variation. They are fun to pop into your mouth..but dangerous because you eat so many that way. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I've been looking for a variation on tired, old Tollhouse, but the man insists on chocolate chips! These are fantastic! Chewy and soft, even the next day. No hard cookies here! Very rich and chocolatey. The cinnamon complements the chocolate nicely, adding a unique flavor, and the cocoa powder makes them not just oatmeal cookies with chips in them. Double the recipe to make 72. Sounds like too many cookies, but who measures them out by the teaspoon?! Definitely glass of milk territory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
These cookies are the best! My 4 year old daughter helped me make them, until it came time to put them on the cookie sheet- at that time she couldn't resst eating the cookie dough and was kicked out of the kitchen. :) My husband said everything about this cookie was perfect and wanted this to be a regular in our house. I used m&m's semisweet baking bits and the cookies really looked "cute" with them. Like another reviewer said, you can't tell when these are browned. I cooked them 10 minutes and when I took them out they were a bit mushy. However, after sitting for the recommended 5 minutes, they firmed up. They are a soft, chocolately cookie and I love the oatmeal texture. I didn't know about cinnamon and chocolate together, but the combination is wonderful! Really great, easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Lilly Freitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
These are the best cookies! I looked all over for a recipe oatmeal cookies with cocoa, as I always have cocoa on hand, but not always chocolate chips. They are really moist and even without the chips, very chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITCH65
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
What can I say? I couldn't keep my fingers out of this dough!! I used reduced-fat butter and substitued unsweetened applesauce for half of it - I couldn't tell at ALL. Scrumptious! Keep an eye out when they're in the oven though, I couldn't tell whether they were "brown" or not so I just took them out after 10 minutes, they didn't look done, but they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Great! Even my picky kids ate it! Kids will eat anything brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. It's very chocolately. Really, how can anything made with cocoa not be great! I made this using half semisweet chocolate chips and half white chocolate chips. It makes it look a bit different, but it's a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This made a fantastic chocolaty cookie!! A huge hit in my house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Ok, Let me tell you..... this recipe is just an awesome recipe. I was skeptical at first after I read a couple of the reviews but the other reviews made me reconsider. I am so glad that I did. My teenage boys flipped for these cookies. Now after 5 batches I think they are satisfied. I can't imagine these cookies to be the least bit dry, if they were I can assure you they were over cooked. That is the key to cookies, do not over cook them. Hats off to the person who took the time to send in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States