Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I was reading the reviews and looking at the recipe and I made just a few adjustments. First, I made a double batch because they are going to a friend and his boss as a thank you gift. I cut back on the sugar by 1/4 cup each. I used half dark cocoa powder and half regular cocoa powder. I omitted the chocolate chips. I also added some fresh ground nutmeg, a dash of allspice, and 1/4 tsp allspice. These are AMAZING! They would be amazing as written - very sweet but amazing. I adjusted it to suit my taste. Cayenne always kicks up a wonderful floral flavor in chocolate. I definitely suggest you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This chocolate cookie is awesome! I made them into bars, and cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup for brown & white sugars like other reviewers suggested. I also added in some flax meal and used spelt flour instead of regular flour. And a combination of black onyx cocoa and regular cocoa powder. Super yummy, will try with coconut and double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I adore this recipe. I leave out the chocolate chips, but follow everything else exactly as it calls for. The cookies are delicious and hearty - exactly what an oatmeal cookie SHOULD be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lyons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayling, Michigan, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
these cookies were delicious. I added coconut for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I used butter and freshly milled whole wheat flour. Did not use chocolate chips since I didn't have any. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This is an awesome chocolate cookie: they really do satisfy a chocolate craving. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose, and 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the margarine (DH won't allow margarine in the house). I took the advice of TRIPLE_LATTE and baked them for exactly 10 minutes. Although they seemed undercooked coming out of the oven - and even sitting for the prescribed 5 minutes -- once totally cooled they were perfect! Thanks, Norcal, for a really great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These cookies were okay though nothing exciting. I'll try another recipe the next time I want a chocolate oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Tasted a bit too strongly of baking soda and the chocolate flavor was weak. Recipe needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
A dough that is easy to work with. A cake like chocolate, cinnamon, and sweet cookie. I used white chocolate chips for contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nogales, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States