Chocolate Oatmeal Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anngellica
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this recipe to use up various ingredients I had on hand so I tweaked the recipe accordingly. I used self-rising flour and omitted the leavening additives and cocoa powder, I used 1 cup Scottish Oats and 1 cup whole grain muesli in lieu of the quick cooking oats, added extra chocolate chips (I just dumped in the entire 24 oz bag) and since I was 1/4 cup short on the butter I added 1/4 cup avocado oil to make up the difference. I couldn't be bothered to bake individual cookies so I made one full size "Toll House" Pie and two mini pies. Hubby LOVES it, but wouldn't if he knew it contained oats Yep, he's childish that way. He'll get to enjoy the two minis. I'm bringing the full size pie to Party Bridge. =^..^=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anngellica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Awesome cookie! Came out perfect. My only suggestion would be to slightly press them down so they are not so fat. This one is a keeper! Thanks eerrrrtttttyyy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Love them.....my favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
One of the best recipes I have made off here, so soft and chewy and a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I make these All. The. Time! I make them for meetings, gifts, & when I need to fill a chocolate craving. I've made the recipe as is, and have also substituted the white sugar for agave syrup (adding 3 tbsp off additional flour) and brown sugar for coconut sugar. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaunam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
For Christmas I was given a jar of cookie mix from Crabtree comp. Ive been craving those cookies ever since I made them. This recipe seems to be exactly the same! Im glad I found this =) The dough is very stiff and almost crumbly but is not a problem once rolled into 1 tbsp balls. I always chill cookie dough 24 hrs before I bake and leave cookies on baking sheet for 3 mins after pulling them out of the oven. All in all good recipe. Thank you Tbot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These are very tasty, but a bit hard to work with! I will try them again, but will use half the oats and half the chocolate chips - there just isn't enough dough to hold all the 'stuff' together!! I had to form the cookies with my hands, and even then, they barely stay together. But my kids and my husband love them, so will definitely give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I love these cookies... They sooth the soul. I use a sugar/splenda blend for the sugar and they are still awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My son begged for more and that doesn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My family absolutely LOVED these cookies... There were only 2 things I did different with this recipe. I added 1 1/2 tbs corn syrup along with an extra 1/2 cup white sugar because I don't like the way unsweetened cocoa tastes. It turned out FANTISTIC and I will continue to make these more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States