Chocolate Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I had to bake this for 55 min. in a 8x8..super moist and i did add more coco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very good, I read the reviews, but did not have applesauce, so I used two mashed banana's in place of the butter. I also added the extra vanilla and cinnamon that everyone mentioned. I used coconut oil to grease the pan. I was looking for a coconut topping to bake on top. Next time. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Good tasting recipe. Easy to prepare and the results were yummy. My results tasted more like brownie than cake. Not complaining, just stating. Everyone still cobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Must have done something wrong. Oatmeal came out almost hard & chewy. Lacked flavor. Comes out of my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was just okay, I will not being making this again because it had no taste. I did not mind the chewy taste of the oatmeal because I love it, but when adding the chocolate it did not help with the taste and I added cinnamon and I think for that 1/2 cup of butter may have taken the taste away, to much. but it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this today, it's a fine recipe but you cannot taste the oatmeal so it taste's just like a regular chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
DELICIOUS!! If your cake turns out with not enough flavor, switch to a different baking cocoa! I used Ghiradelli and it was absolutely full of chocolate flavor! Also remember that this recipe is lower in calories........... Never use cheap chocolate for baking. That's my opinion - saved at the wrong place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Rescue, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Leyden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delmar, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
So delicious! I've made this cake twice now, and am more and more impressed with it. It is fluffy and delicious, but feels hearty and moist because of the oatmeal. I love making it, and it disappears fast! I've done it with a cream cheese frosting, but also without. Bookmark this recipe! You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Great Recipe. Always turns out super moist. I usually don't ice mine and have it as a snack cake but have used a chocolate butter cream as well that worked. I need to try and cut the butter some and use applesauce to lessen the calorie count next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States