Chocolate Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These had a wonderful flavor but I wish I would have read the reviews first because mine came out mushy since I used the 9 inch square pan. I will definitely make them again but use a bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Delicious!! Yes they do crumble a bit, but I'd rather have a tasty bar than a tidy and less tasty bar. I increased all ingredients by 50% and baked this on a heavy 10x17 cookie sheet for 25 minutes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
In a 9x13 pan with sweetened condensed milk this always comes out incredibly! one of my favorite recipes of all time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: King George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Used a 13 by 9 to bake it and used sweetened condensed milk instead of evap. I also added more oatmeal on the last step until it was more "crumbly". It came out very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I used this recipe solely for the chocolate filling. I had my own crumb recipe. It was wonderful. I don't know why everyone was so bent out of shape about using the evaporated milk. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
It certainly does need the 9x13 and by reading the other reviews I knew this. My try at this turned out very much like a moist cake-like bar when it came out of the oven-we can never wait for things to cool- and the next day settled into a gooey chocolatey bar cookie. Both ways were excellent! We like to eat it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe turns out perfectly even with evaporated milk in a 9x13 pan. I usually double the recipe and use a 16x12x1 in. cookie sheet. I also leave out the walnuts b/c of personal preference. Granted the filling can be a little tedious(constant stirring) but its minimal effort for an incredibly tasty bar. I HAVE to bring these to every event I attend or risk being shunned by friends and family alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
These bars are unbelievably good! I will definitely make these again (and again, and again and again)!! For the record, I used chopped almonds rather than walnuts as people in my house find walnuts a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Theses are the best oatmeal bars i have ever had! I brought them to a bake sale and they were gone in 10 minutes. try them and you'll see!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
My mom made these all the time growing up, and they are my favorite however the recipe here is a little off. Use Sweetened and Condensed milk not evaporated milk. Also, save some of the crust to sprinkle on the top and bake the crust for about 15 minutes before adding the rest to it, that makes it more of a bar base and not so mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States