Chocolate Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
My mom made these all the time growing up, and they are my favorite however the recipe here is a little off. Use Sweetened and Condensed milk not evaporated milk. Also, save some of the crust to sprinkle on the top and bake the crust for about 15 minutes before adding the rest to it, that makes it more of a bar base and not so mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
The proportions are totally wrong and leave you with a soupy mess, not bars. Additionally, condensed milk and evaporated milk are TWO DIFFERENT things. Condensed works, evaporated doesn't. You get the tard award for writing this so totally wrong recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe turns out perfectly even with evaporated milk in a 9x13 pan. I usually double the recipe and use a 16x12x1 in. cookie sheet. I also leave out the walnuts b/c of personal preference. Granted the filling can be a little tedious(constant stirring) but its minimal effort for an incredibly tasty bar. I HAVE to bring these to every event I attend or risk being shunned by friends and family alike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These had a wonderful flavor but I wish I would have read the reviews first because mine came out mushy since I used the 9 inch square pan. I will definitely make them again but use a bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I followed the directions except 1) I used a can of condensed milk instead of the evaporated milk and I ommitted the 1/4 cup sugar in the filling and 2) I cooked the bars in a 9 x 13 pan and 3) I precooked the base for about 12 minutes. They turned out okay, but they use SO much butter that I won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Delicious!! Yes they do crumble a bit, but I'd rather have a tasty bar than a tidy and less tasty bar. I increased all ingredients by 50% and baked this on a heavy 10x17 cookie sheet for 25 minutes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
It certainly does need the 9x13 and by reading the other reviews I knew this. My try at this turned out very much like a moist cake-like bar when it came out of the oven-we can never wait for things to cool- and the next day settled into a gooey chocolatey bar cookie. Both ways were excellent! We like to eat it with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe turns out great if you use a larger pan. I took these to a holiday party and everyone asked for the recipe. And anyone who thinks the filling is too much trouble either doesn't work often with chocolate or is incredibly lazy. It only took about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
In a 9x13 pan with sweetened condensed milk this always comes out incredibly! one of my favorite recipes of all time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: King George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Used a 13 by 9 to bake it and used sweetened condensed milk instead of evap. I also added more oatmeal on the last step until it was more "crumbly". It came out very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States