Chocolate 'N' Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Yummy for your tummy! I had to increase the butter to 1 stick plus 2 tablespoons because the mixture was too dry otherwise. I used almonds and walnuts for the nuts and substituted milk chocolate chips for semisweet. Super easy to make. I did spray my pan with no-stick cooking spray and the bars came out very nicely. This is definetly a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This dessert is a hit! Everyone I share it with loves it! I find that the 1/2 cup of topping isn't enough to cover the top of the dessert - so I had another 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 2T of butter on top of what it calls for - to have enough for both the crust and the topping - and reserve a cup instead of a 1/2. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Loved it! I only had 3/4's cup of semi-sweet and it worked fine. We added 3/4's cup coconut, too to the nuts & chips mixture. All the other tips listed really would make a difference in the outcome of the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnewlon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Excellent! The crust and topping is a little bit dry, and I would recommend you do what someone for the "Chocolate Chip Oat Bars" (SAME RECIPE!!!) suggested - add at least 2 more T of butter. (Only difference between the two recipes is the other one says "cold butter.") The flavor is excellent and it is fairly easy to make. I LOVED them. A friend who doesn't generally like oatmeal (I didn't realize) really liked them. My preschooler daughter thought they tasted like peanut butter and wouldn't eat them. LOL Overall, tasty and easy. I will make them again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This recipe is similar to the Magic Layer bars that my family loves, but a little less sweet. I wasn't expecting to like it as much as the magic layer bars, but I did. I used the pastry blender to cut the butter into the sugar and flour, incorporating the oats at the last minute. I find that easier to mix the dry ingredients with the butter. Also, when pouring the sweetened condensed milk over the crust, I try to keep it away from the edges so it doesn't harden onto the pan. It's just easier to cut. It's a little more work than the magic layer bars, but worth it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this is good. i had to change it a bit to suit my ingredients. i didnt have sweetened condensed so i used evap milk + 1 1/4 sugar as a substitution and half the chips. baked nicely. a nice sweet simple treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The whole family loved this recipe even though I messed up on the directions (just didn't read carefully). I did not reserve any of the mixture for a top layer, so I just cooked it without a top layer. It was a great treat and easy to make - definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
AWESOME cookies. loved these. Added shredded coconut to the top. I wanted to eat the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These bars were good, very rich. I felt there was a lot of condensed milk, and even after cooling, I had white milk oozing out when I cut into the bars. My kids did like them and ate most of them, but we've had better bar recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
very rich and gooey. I did not have very much oatmeal mixture for a topping after making the bottom crust as written, but they turned out very yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States