Chocolate 'N' Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Yummy for your tummy! I had to increase the butter to 1 stick plus 2 tablespoons because the mixture was too dry otherwise. I used almonds and walnuts for the nuts and substituted milk chocolate chips for semisweet. Super easy to make. I did spray my pan with no-stick cooking spray and the bars came out very nicely. This is definetly a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
AWESOME cookies. loved these. Added shredded coconut to the top. I wanted to eat the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Excellent! The crust and topping is a little bit dry, and I would recommend you do what someone for the "Chocolate Chip Oat Bars" (SAME RECIPE!!!) suggested - add at least 2 more T of butter. (Only difference between the two recipes is the other one says "cold butter.") The flavor is excellent and it is fairly easy to make. I LOVED them. A friend who doesn't generally like oatmeal (I didn't realize) really liked them. My preschooler daughter thought they tasted like peanut butter and wouldn't eat them. LOL Overall, tasty and easy. I will make them again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This dessert is a hit! Everyone I share it with loves it! I find that the 1/2 cup of topping isn't enough to cover the top of the dessert - so I had another 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 2T of butter on top of what it calls for - to have enough for both the crust and the topping - and reserve a cup instead of a 1/2. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this is good. i had to change it a bit to suit my ingredients. i didnt have sweetened condensed so i used evap milk + 1 1/4 sugar as a substitution and half the chips. baked nicely. a nice sweet simple treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The whole family loved this recipe even though I messed up on the directions (just didn't read carefully). I did not reserve any of the mixture for a top layer, so I just cooked it without a top layer. It was a great treat and easy to make - definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great, easy recipe! My husband doesn't like nuts, so I used cornflakes instead. They worked just fine to give a little crunch. These bars do dry out if they sit around too long. I had a covered pan with 3 bars left that sat for 5 days over the long holiday weekend that were too hard to eat. Key - don't make more than you'll eat in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I will definitely make these again, they're amazing so quick and easy to make as well. I added some coconut to mine before sprinkling the oat mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is really good and easy to make. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My mom had an Eagle Brand cook book when I was growing up. This recipe was in it and is one of my favourites. I made sure to copy it out when I moved out! It comes together fast and is so yummy. I've never met a person who didn't like it. This is a recipe I turn to if I find out someone is coming over and I need something to serve to them quick. I almost always have all the ingredients on hand. I've never made changes to it, I don't think it needs it. I recommend cutting it after it's cooled a little, but is still warm, otherwise the edges can stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States