Chocolate 'N' Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This recipe is similar to the Magic Layer bars that my family loves, but a little less sweet. I wasn't expecting to like it as much as the magic layer bars, but I did. I used the pastry blender to cut the butter into the sugar and flour, incorporating the oats at the last minute. I find that easier to mix the dry ingredients with the butter. Also, when pouring the sweetened condensed milk over the crust, I try to keep it away from the edges so it doesn't harden onto the pan. It's just easier to cut. It's a little more work than the magic layer bars, but worth it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My mom had an Eagle Brand cook book when I was growing up. This recipe was in it and is one of my favourites. I made sure to copy it out when I moved out! It comes together fast and is so yummy. I've never met a person who didn't like it. This is a recipe I turn to if I find out someone is coming over and I need something to serve to them quick. I almost always have all the ingredients on hand. I've never made changes to it, I don't think it needs it. I recommend cutting it after it's cooled a little, but is still warm, otherwise the edges can stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is really good and easy to make. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I will definitely make these again, they're amazing so quick and easy to make as well. I added some coconut to mine before sprinkling the oat mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great, easy recipe! My husband doesn't like nuts, so I used cornflakes instead. They worked just fine to give a little crunch. These bars do dry out if they sit around too long. I had a covered pan with 3 bars left that sat for 5 days over the long holiday weekend that were too hard to eat. Key - don't make more than you'll eat in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The whole family loved this recipe even though I messed up on the directions (just didn't read carefully). I did not reserve any of the mixture for a top layer, so I just cooked it without a top layer. It was a great treat and easy to make - definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this is good. i had to change it a bit to suit my ingredients. i didnt have sweetened condensed so i used evap milk + 1 1/4 sugar as a substitution and half the chips. baked nicely. a nice sweet simple treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This dessert is a hit! Everyone I share it with loves it! I find that the 1/2 cup of topping isn't enough to cover the top of the dessert - so I had another 1/2 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 2T of butter on top of what it calls for - to have enough for both the crust and the topping - and reserve a cup instead of a 1/2. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Excellent! The crust and topping is a little bit dry, and I would recommend you do what someone for the "Chocolate Chip Oat Bars" (SAME RECIPE!!!) suggested - add at least 2 more T of butter. (Only difference between the two recipes is the other one says "cold butter.") The flavor is excellent and it is fairly easy to make. I LOVED them. A friend who doesn't generally like oatmeal (I didn't realize) really liked them. My preschooler daughter thought they tasted like peanut butter and wouldn't eat them. LOL Overall, tasty and easy. I will make them again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
AWESOME cookies. loved these. Added shredded coconut to the top. I wanted to eat the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States