Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Simply Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
One of the best recipes I have tried from this site! I have to make a quick breakfast for 3 teenagers every morning before school/work. With this recipe, I can make about 27 regular size muffins. I used 1 cup applesauce instead of the sour cream. Also cut back a little on the flour and added about 1/4 more cocoa. They are outstanding. I also sprinkle the tops with a few chocolate chips before baking and use about 1 cup of chips in the batter. Makes them look and taste better. Before this recipe, I was using the prepackaged muffin mixes. Such a difference with these! They are a little denser and are very filling. I have made this recipe twice in the last 2 weeks and it makes enough for several breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I made these with a cup of fat free yogurt instead of the sour cream. Also, I didn't have chocolate chips so I used Nutella. After filling the muffin cups I dabbed about 1-2 tsp of Nutella on top each muffin, then cut and stirred it in with a butter knife before cooking. I also chopped up some almonds and sprinkled it on top. They turned out moist and delicious. You must be careful not to overcook the muffins because they seemed to dry easy if cooked a little too long. The Nutella can also make the muffins seem like they are not done yet, when they really are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Made this with some alterations based on other's comments: 2 1/4 cup flour, 3/4 cup cocoa, used brewed and cooled coffee instead of water, used 3/4 cup brown and 3/4 white sugar,1 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup butter melted and cooled, and 1 cup chocolate chips. It was very good--more like a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We made dark choc cake muffins and used applesauce and a little less sugar. My family LOVED them. They could easily pass for cupcakes or dessert muffins (not something I'd serve for nutritional value). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! I followed the other reviewers in regards to less flour more cocoa powder. I also didn't have any chocolate chips but since its after Halloween I did have a surplus of Hershey bars. After everything was mixed I discovered my house had been robbed and they only took my muffin papers and muffin tin so I just made them into brownies. It took about double the time to cook but holy shiz so moist and delicious! Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katsiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Sour cream was a great idea for these muffins they are moist and yummy I made mine into 'jumbo' muffins and got great reviews!! Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Wow! I read other reviews first and found myself getting a bit confused with all of the substitutions so I only made the most common change which was to add one additional 1/4 C of cocoa powder. I filled my cups 3/4 full and it made 11 jumbo muffins that are just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Fabulous chocolate muffins - I used high quality cocoa, more Ghirardella chocolate chips than the recipe asked for, and brewed coffee instead of the water to bring out a more intense chocolate flavor. This recipe is easy, moist and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States