Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I found this recipe while trying to recreate the cupcakes that are sold locally as a gourmet item for more than $3 each. The particular cupcake I wanted to duplicate was dense and dry like a muffin, and quite small, but covered with decorative mounds of delicious frosting dwarfing the cake. I selected this recipe from among those I found online after reading the reviews. I used the modifications suggested by JeaNeeNer, increasing the cocoa and chips, and decreasing the flour. I also am in the habit of substituting melted butter for oil in cake mix cakes, and did so in this recipe instinctively. I liked CookinginFL's idea of baking them in jumbo muffin pans and decided to do so. After I filled my jumbo cups, I had a lot of batter left, so I poured it into 5 ungreased (oops!) standard muffin pans. CookinginFL did not give an adjusted baking time for the jumbos, and they were clearly far from done when the small ones were due to come out. I left the jumbos in 10 more minutes and they looked ok, but they sank in the middle as they cooled and were gooey. Aside from being stuck to the pan, the small muffins were good! Trying again, but: I am sticking with my use of butter in place of oil, I will adjust the cocoa and flour per JeaNeeNer's recommendation, I don't think I will increase the chips, which settled out, and will probably use mini morsels in the hope of getting a more even distribution of chocolate. I'll use standard pan w/liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Moist, chocolatey muffins that my kids love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I downed the baking soda to 1 tsp and used hot cocoa drink mix because I was out of cocoa and so I upped the chocolate (dark chocolate chunks) to 1 cup. Oh yeh we are making these again. Definitely moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
DELICIOUS! I change the flour to 2 cups wholemeal flour + 1/4 ground cup almond use brown sugar instead of sugar just 1 tsp baking soda instead of 1 and half i have no fresh milk so sub with 1/8 cup milk powder and 1/2 cup water (+the 1/2 cup water called in the recipe) 3/4 cups of chocolate chips + 3/4 cup raisin Yummeh This is horribly chocolatey awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by o.d

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
they tasted totally awesome! i made changes according to the other reviewers: added 1/4 cup of cocoa and decreased flour by 1/4 cup, added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, substituted apple sauce for sour cream. i used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to fill the greased muffin tin (paper cups and i don't mix). i also baked them using convection at 300 degrees for a little over 20 minutes. the recipe made 24 muffins for me! they were gone in less than 24 hours. they tasted amazing! thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I cut this down by half to make twelve muffins. I only used about a half cup of sugar I substituted nonfat plain yogurt for the sour cream because that's what I had on hand. I also used melted butter in place of the oil. I did use a cup of chips in the batter and I pressed a few chocolate chips over the top of each muffin before baking. My husband thought these were pretty close to Costco's chocolate chocolate chip muffin. Very moist and chocolate-y. I got 12 large muffins out of half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A truly great muffin. We are definitely chocolate lovers here, and this was a great treat for my guys for breakfast this morning. My son (not a big breakfast eater) inhaled 3 of these, without apology. I used all White Whole Wheat flour, 2 eggs (for half recipe), and plain nonfat yogurt for the sour cream. As usual when baking w/whole wheat flour I prepped my batter the night before, and baked in the morning. Along with speeding up morning prep time, allowing it to sit overnight helps this muffin to bake up and taste more like it's traditional white flour counterparts. I got about 10 good sized muffins from half the original recipe (since you typically fill the muffin cups a bit more full when dealing w/wheat flour). These were more like a cupcake than an actual muffin, lol, but making them whole grain helped them to be as nutritious as the were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These were wonderful! Not too sweet, but just enough with the chocolate chips. I brought these to a bake sale and they went very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Whiting, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These are so good! I used cottage cheese instead of sour cream and they turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These are great muffins! Delicious and easy to make. I actually have a yeast allergy so I made them so that I could eat them. I only had to make a few adjustments. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, I used Xylitol (1cup) in place of the sugar, I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, and I used grain sweetened chocolate chips. They were still delicious despite all of the adjustments I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossipee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States