Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
After reading all the reviews, I decided to add 1/4 cup more cocoa (3/4 cup total), decreased flour to 2 1/4 cups, increased choc.chips to 1 cup. I mixed choc chips in the flour/cocoa mixture before mixing wet ingred. with dry ingred. The choc. chips did not sink to the bottom. The muffins were done @18-19 minutes (pull them out a minute or so early, then they don't become dry). These are additive, moist, sweet enough and chocolatey enough. Thanks Nellie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I broke my own rule of baking per recipe the first time, before making it my own through changes in technique and substitutions. I replaced 1/2 c of the white sugar with dark brown sugar to add moisture and give the chocolate a little extra pop. I added the sugars to the wet mixture. I replaced a 1/4 of flour with cocoa. Instead of water and milk, I used almond milk. I also added almond extract along with the vanilla, and topped each muffin with slivered almonds before baking, which added a sweet crunch to the finished product. I preheated the oven to almost 400 degrees and then turned the temp down to 325 when I put the pans in the oven to get that initial steam build-up for more height. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My kids LOVED them. I used whole wheat flour and left out the chocolate chips to make them healthier for breakfast and served with fruit. My daughter said, "Mom, you did a GOOD JOB on these!" Maybe it was my changes, but don't fill the cups too full or it runs over the edge when it cooks instead of puffing up more. Still a hit and will keep the recipe. Next time I will try dried cranberries instead of chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This muffin is AWESOME!!! Although some alterations have been made due to human errors they are so minimal that it's almost insignificant 1)1 extra teaspoon heaped cocoa powder 2)2 extra teaspoons of sour cream 3)a lot more chocolate chips, so much that i can't remember =p anyway this is a recipe that worth a thumb up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Perfect!! I used applesauce instead of sour cream and white chocolate chunks instead of chocolate chips. Moist and soft and very yummy. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
These are moist, rich, and best of all - EASY! These will be my new cupcake recipe. I used decaf espresso in place of water to give them a little oomph. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
After reading all the reviews and my own alterations, I don't think you can ruin these muffins. I added grated zucchini, whole wheat flour, walnuts, flax, oat bran, coffee (no water), and apple sauce (no oil). I even added a little orange rind. They were still light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Amazing!! I made these into mini loaves and they turned out great. I used half brown sugar/half white sugar, double the chocolate chips, and substituted some white flour with wheat flour to make dense muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Delicious! Followed exactly as written, except that I used a jumbo-size muffin pan...making 6 large muffins. Thank You! (And Happy 4th of July!) :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Followed the recipe except I substituted the apple sauce with Heavy whipping cream. Cooked for 20 mins and came out perfect. Moist chocolatey deliciousness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuufulhundin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States