Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were so delicious! Based on other reviews, I used 2 1/4 cup flour, 3/4 cup cocoa, 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup white sugar, 1 cup chocolate chips, and double strong coffee instead of water. They didn't have any coffee flavor after they were baked so I'm not sure how much of a difference that made. However, the muffins were super moist and just chocolately enough without being super sweet. I don't usually review/rate recipes but I had to for this one! This recipe will definitely get used a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livetocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These were awesome! I did make some adjustments. I switched to yogurt(plain) instead of sour cream, the sugar was reduced to 1/2 cup, and I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar with 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I had 24 cupcakes. I mixed in coconut with the last dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Lady Blue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mullins, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I love these. So wonderful! I had to leave out the egg (I didn't tell my husband I wanted to make muffins and he made us breakfast with the last couple) but had everything else. It still turned out perfectly. I can't wait to make these and mail them to my family back home!! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These are good! Moist, fluffy, light, and chocolatey. I don't' really consider them muffins, though. They're very cake-like. They remind me of Duncan Hines cake mix. I'm still looking for that perfect, rich chocolate muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I think people gave it a good ratings because they added too much chocolate chip so they didn't notice the taste or the texture of the muffins. I added more cocoa powder as recommended (3/4 )and reduced the flour to (2 1/4) , it wasn't chocolaty enough besides it wasn't very moist , just dense . any way if you are looking for a bakery style muffins this is not the right recipe for you .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Rare moments of peaceful silence ensue as children savor every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
very moist and chocolately, kids loved it. i followed a suggestion from a previous review and used 3/4 cup cocoa and 2-1/4 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
YUM!!!!!It was really fun to make, and was delicious.We agreed it was the best muffin we had ever made. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
To make this healthier for breakfast I use yogurt instead of sour cream, apple sauce instead of oil, almond milk instead of cows milk and I halve the sugar amount. I also use this batter to make waffles in the waffle iron. I let the kids dip waffles in whip cream. These muffins are so soft and gooey, they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Not bad! It was a touch bland and the actual muffin part could have been more chocolatey but they were moist, quick to throw together and pretty tasty. I halved the recipe, using 2 eggs, and it worked great. I used peanut butter chips instead of chocolate, which I guess is why I wanted the cakey part to be a little more chocolately - I suppose I could have used some choc chips and some peanut butter. The PB chips were good in them though, especially when warm and melty. I'd make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States