Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. Grandkids and adults alike devoured. I did (as so many others suggested) increase cocoa to 3/4 cup and decreased our to 2 1/4 cup. I also added a tsp of coffee extact to enhance flavor a bit Fantastic. Made with both chocolate and vanilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I really didn't like how these turned out. I made them because I had some chocolate chips to use up and figure why not? I made the recipe exactly as written as these came out dense and not especially appealing. These might have been OK if you put some frosting on and called them cupcakes, but as muffins, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
this was a great recipe but instead of water i used day old coffee i saved for baking and added 1/2c more chocolate chips and 1/3c more coco for a super rich chocolate chip muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These are awesome. I increased the cocoa to 3/4 cup and decreased the flour by 1/4 cup to get a richer chocolate taste. I also only used 2 eggs because that is all I had. I frosted some of these with a peanut butter frosting but I think I prefer them plain. Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I was really disappointed. They did not have much taste and were kinda rubbery in texture (I may have mixed them too much). I wish I had seen the suggestions of decreasing the flour and adding cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
SO GOOD. I did what previous reviewers had done. Added 1/2 cup more chocolate chips (so 1 cup total). Added more cocoa, so 3/4 cup cocoa and decreased flour to 2 1/4 cups. Added 1/2 cup brown sugar and just did 1 cup white sugar. These were so good! Just what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maecuddlez
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
so easy to make and taste good. you can put more chocolate chip if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maecuddlez

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These are really good muffins that bake up beautifully domed on top. Not too sweet, but with a super creamy peanut butter frosting they are a wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Really good, I did make a few changes to make them a little healthier for breakfast. I used 2% plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream, add 1/2 cup flax seed and replace vegetable oil with coconut oil. Next time I would like to substitute half the flour with whole wheat, I was out this time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
this is a great recipe. After reading through the reviews, I too decreased the amount of flour slightly (2 1/2 cups) and increased the cocoa to 3/4 cups. Also, I realized after I started getting all of my ingredients ready that I didn't have any sour cream on hand, so I substituted a 1/2 cup of buttermilk for it (only used a 1/2 cup since buttermilk is obviously more liquid than sour cream). I don't know if it was the buttermilk, or just ensuring I didn't overmix the batter (just stirred gently by hand until it was barely mixed together), but these muffins were so moist and delicious, I couldn't believe it. I think next time I'll go back to the buttermilk, I don't think I'll even attempt these with sour cream, they came out that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States