Chocolate Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made these on several occasions and each time have been very pleased with results. My four children have eaten them faster than I make them. I will admit to adding a bit more cocoa and Lavazza expresso. Will remain a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Edith Spulick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Very chocolate-y!! Very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These were wonderful! Baked up beautifully I did use 1cup regular sugar an1/2cup brown sugar Delicious!!! I baked them in my new cavity bar cake pan an covered them with chocolate ganache
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Wow these are good! I brought these to work and they disappeared FAST. They said they were the best chocolate muffins they had ever had. Based on other reviews I used 3/4 cup cocoa (Hershey's special dark) and reduced the flour to 2 1/4 cups. I used over a cup of chocolate chips, mixing them with the dry ingredients so they wouldn't sink to the bottom. Next time I plan on adding even more (to me you can't have too many chocolate chips!) It made 24 muffins and I had to bake them for the full 25 minutes, which was unusual for my oven since it normally bakes faster. The texture was fantastic (I was careful not to overmix) and the chocolate chips were meltly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is the first time i made muffins and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made these again and they are really hard to mess up. After reading the reviews I decided to play a bit. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of buttermilk instead of milk and water and used 3/4 c. of cocoa. Then I added 1/2 c. of white chocolate chips. The recipe made 24 muffins and they came out great. The kitchen smells wonderful. Thank you for a really nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Wonderful muffins! They are moist and chocolaty, they taste a bit like cupcakes. They're also great with whipped cream. I used 1 cup of chocolate chips because they needed more, and replaced half of the flour with whole wheat flour and 1/3 sugar with splenda to make them healthier. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Followed the recipe except I substituted the apple sauce with Heavy whipping cream. Cooked for 20 mins and came out perfect. Moist chocolatey deliciousness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuufulhundin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These were great! I must admit, I didn't have any sour cream, but did have applesauce, so I used that. They were super! Usually recipes call for applesauce *in place of* oil, but this one called for both (at least as originally written). I followed everything else as written. I filled the muffins almost full, and they baked up perfectly - didn't overflow at all. Mine didn't need baking more than 20 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
It's a keeper! Purchased some top quality Dutch Cocoa and wanted to experiment with it. As other suggested, I used 3/4 cup Cocoa instead of 1/2 cup. Used 2 1/4 cup Flour instead of 2 2/3 cup. Used 1/2 cup fresh squeezed orange juice instead of 1/2 cup Water. Added zested rind from one orange. Used 1 cup Dark Chocolate Chips. Actually got 18 muffins. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States