Chocolate Mousse Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This was a great recipe that was quick and easy to do! Instead of making the chocolate topping I used the rest of the heavy whipping cream and made a whipped cream topping. Also would recommend putting it in the freezer and getting a pre made oreo cookie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe for every thanksgiving since I discovered it on Allrecipes several years ago, and I have to say it is really my all time favorite Chocolate Mouse Pie recipe! The flavor is so rich, which I love, and sophisticated. It's not a quick pie to make, so plan on investing some time into this, but you will be thanking yourself every bite you take, it's that good. One change I make is to halve the almond extract because it can be a bit overwhelming. (BTW the foremost image of this does not do it justice, maybe i'll ad a photo when I make it tomorrow if I can remember to before my family eats it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Goodsell
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My 10 year old picked this to make for our weekly treat. It was delicious. She also learned a lot of different cooking methods while making it. She had never used gelatin or whipped egg whites or cream before so it was a fun and tasty learning experience for her. I have also made the mousse as filling for chocolate cupcakes and the chocolate whipped cream as icing for the cupcakes. We have a little cupcake business and added them to our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
little work but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I may use half the coffee next time, but it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was good but I thought the almond extract was completely overpowering. I will definitely make again w/o the almond and see how it is. I didn't have a problem with the pie setting up that some of the other reviewers had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very good. Should be called Mocha Mousse Pie, as the coffee flavor is pleasantly present. Made 2 pies and they're almost gone! Semi froze them, which made the cutting easier and a more "icecreamy" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Yum!!! I loved this pie and so did everyone else that tried it! I did leave out the almond extract and it still tasted good. Also, I made the topping the same day as the pie but chilled both overnight then put the topping on the next day. I felt like it was more solid and less messy to cut that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Easy to follow recipe and great results. I used a baked pie crust because I had planned to make a different chocolate pie and then couldn't find the cornstarch. I made the recipe as written except I added one egg and I whipped a full cup of cream and folded it into the chocolate mousse and poured the entire contents into the shell. There was enough left to make two small servings that we tasted a few hours later. I wanted to let the pie set up overnight so it would cut nicely. I am not going to add the second layer and may decorate with chocolate curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States