Chocolate Mousse Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I always test out recipes a couple of times before I serve them to other people, and I'm going to make this one for thanksgiving, with a few changes: 1) I felt the coffee and the almond flavors were too overpowering, so I left them out the second time. The chocolate is much better when it doesn't have to compete with other flavors. 2) I added four egg whites, instead of three, to the mousse part, to make it more airy. 3) I made my own crust out of chocolate graham crackers. 4) I also added gelatin to the topping to stabilize it, and I doubled the recipe for the topping because it wasn't enough the first time around. The gelatin creates an almost mousse-like consistency to the topping. Add some chocolate curls to the top of this pie and it will look like it came out of a fancy bakery. With these few changes this pie is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Can you say YUMMY??? The only thing I would do differently is chill the chocolate part until VERY firm (maybe overnight) because my whipped cream topping (I used peppermint instead of almond) just kind of sunk into the chocolate, since the chocolate was still quite soft after 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I wish I could give this a higher rating, but five stars is as high as it goes! This is the best chocolate mousse pie I've ever had! Even better than in any restaurant I've ever had anything mousse in! It was easy to make and store, and I even made mine non-dairy using Rich's whipping cream. Everybody raved about the pie. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
A really good version of this is to put it in the freezer instead of the fridge until completely frozen. The mousse ends up reminding you of ice cream but is still light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This pie is so good! I brought it to a 4th of July BBQ and everyone loved it! It is a bit rich, but still great. I defnitely reccomend chilling the pie overnight to get a nice firm (not soupy) consistency. When I made it I thought I had done something wrong because it looked so soupy, but after leaving it in the fridge overnight, it was perfect! Overall, easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This was excellent! I would recommend not using the chocolate waffer crust, only because a basic pie crust really does mediate the rich taste of the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Get ready to fall in love! This is THE best chocolate mousse pie I have EVER made. It was beyond good. Better than any I have had while eating out. Also this is SO easy to make!!! The only thing I would change is a little less almond in the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Easy to follow recipe and great results. I used a baked pie crust because I had planned to make a different chocolate pie and then couldn't find the cornstarch. I made the recipe as written except I added one egg and I whipped a full cup of cream and folded it into the chocolate mousse and poured the entire contents into the shell. There was enough left to make two small servings that we tasted a few hours later. I wanted to let the pie set up overnight so it would cut nicely. I am not going to add the second layer and may decorate with chocolate curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was phenomenal! I made this for the Passover seder we went to (with a special crust) and it was devoured! The coffee really makes the flavor of the chocolate. It was phenomenal! Definitely chill overnight. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This is very good. It has just the right amount of chocolate. It isn't overly rich either. Definitely one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States