Chocolate Mousse Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This is very good. It has just the right amount of chocolate. It isn't overly rich either. Definitely one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Can you say YUMMY??? The only thing I would do differently is chill the chocolate part until VERY firm (maybe overnight) because my whipped cream topping (I used peppermint instead of almond) just kind of sunk into the chocolate, since the chocolate was still quite soft after 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I wish I could give this a higher rating, but five stars is as high as it goes! This is the best chocolate mousse pie I've ever had! Even better than in any restaurant I've ever had anything mousse in! It was easy to make and store, and I even made mine non-dairy using Rich's whipping cream. Everybody raved about the pie. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: University Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Get ready to fall in love! This is THE best chocolate mousse pie I have EVER made. It was beyond good. Better than any I have had while eating out. Also this is SO easy to make!!! The only thing I would change is a little less almond in the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Rich and delicious! My husband requested chocolate mousse pie for Father's Day. He loved it! My dad, who travels a lot for his work, was visiting that day and said that this pie is exactly what he has always tried to find in restaurants. A definite keeper. I will be making this pie for my dad sometime as a "birthday cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This was excellent! I would recommend not using the chocolate waffer crust, only because a basic pie crust really does mediate the rich taste of the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Good flavor, but I wish the choclate filling would've been a little firmer. I might try adding more gelatin next time. Overall, a bit time consuming, but really well received at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is an excellent pie! I used ghirardelli cocoa and chocolate chips. I also made my own crust using graham crackers, cocoa, sugar & butter. I made this recipe twice. The first time I used less almond than it called for and it was very good. The second time I left out the almond & vanilla from the topping, and honestly, you just don't need them... the pie is so much on it's own:) I topped with drizzled fudge & small pieces of cut strawberries for decoration. Very decadent pie, a HUGE hit and a must try! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This pie didn't get rave reviews like many other highly rated pies I've made from this site. It was pretty rich for our taste, but that may be the problem - we don't really like very rich desserts. Also, I'm not sure I did well with folding in the egg whites. I guess my overall review would be - if you like rich chocolate pie, then give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
i doubled the coffee, and i didnt add cocoa powder to the topping... i wanted a little something bland since the whole thing was so rich and sweet. i also added chopped walnuts on top. this is a great recipe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States