Chocolate Mousse I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
As a Belgian, my expectations about chocolate mousse are quite high. I was a little bit surprised by this recipe containing no cream at all, but it sounded very easy to prepare and to scale. I must admit that THIS IS A REAL GOOD BITTER CHOCOLATE MOUSSE. You must try it if you're a chocolate connoisseur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Really quick and easy. When I made it a second time, I decided to add some cream that I had as well - don't do it, it was FAR nicer without!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
SUPER SUPER SUPER!!! Just like my grandmother used to make. I'd forgotten how easy this was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Delicious. This took about 5 minutes to prepare and it came out wonderful. For the people who said it was clumpy, you need to make sure you fold it really well. Do that and you have a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
The choclate tasted burned and crusty. I do not recommend this recipe at all. Sorry! 2 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This mousse was great! VERY easy to make and it was delicious. All my friends loved it. Serve them in wine glasses with a little whip cream as garnish and they look awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very good - I used Tia Maria as the alcohol, and 72% dark chocolate. It took quite awhile to blend the egg yolk/chocolate mixture with the egg white, and there were a few little lumps of chocolate left, but it tasted great. I served it in glasses with a side serve of vanilla bean ice cream to cut through the richness - guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
To the reviewer who said her chocolate became pasty after adding her egg yolks ...this will happen if you add your eggs in hot chocolate because it cooks up the eggs.Make sure the chocolate is somewhat cool to the touch when you add the yolks and you should not have a clumpy pasty chocolate mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My mousse came out great. I do think the kind of chocolate you use will affect the flavor; however, I don't think the quality affects the consistency of the mousse itself. I used a cheap bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips that I bought 4-6 months ago, and the texture of the mousse still came out perfectly. The semi-sweet flavor of the chocolate was a bit overwhelming; next time I will simply use a chocolate I like to eat as is for the mousse. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was delicious! I added 3 tsps of Baily's instead and it gave it a really nice kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States