Chocolate Mousse I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
A WOW factor recipe I've been making for years and I was glad to find the same recipe on this site. I always use good quality dark cooking chocolate and ensure the chocolate is melted very slowly to avoid clumping before mixing in the yolks and rum or brandy. A real winner of a recipe and everyone thinks I'm a 5 star chef when I serve this one up with fresh whipped cream to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Delicious. This took about 5 minutes to prepare and it came out wonderful. For the people who said it was clumpy, you need to make sure you fold it really well. Do that and you have a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
While this recipe yields a tasty result... it is also a lumpy one. I tried several different times to make this work out to the smooth texture one expects of mousse. No matter what I tried, the chocolate set far too quickly and couldn't be thinned out enough to fold in the eggwhites gently. I have never had this problem with any other mousse recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I couldn't believe it was so easy! A hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This was wonderful. Loved it. Didn't have bittersweet chocolate but semi-sweet and unsweeted combined seemed to do the trick. Watch out for the leftovers - a gross skim will form on top if you aren't careful. Not pleasant. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Santa Paula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was delicious! I added 3 tsps of Baily's instead and it gave it a really nice kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Simple and simply great. As easy as the pudding based versions with the quality of being the real deal. Added a bit of Disaronno Amaretto in place of the rum. Really good, really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
The choclate tasted burned and crusty. I do not recommend this recipe at all. Sorry! 2 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
first time ever making mousse...it turned out really great..i dont no if it was addictive because of the chocolate or the rum...hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
As a Belgian, my expectations about chocolate mousse are quite high. I was a little bit surprised by this recipe containing no cream at all, but it sounded very easy to prepare and to scale. I must admit that THIS IS A REAL GOOD BITTER CHOCOLATE MOUSSE. You must try it if you're a chocolate connoisseur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States