Chocolate Mousse Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was amazing! I followed the directions to the 'T' only making one change; instead of plain water with the pudding, I used cold coffee. It was so rich and delicious. My father said it was the best cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a great frosting. I used Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake from this site instead of buying the cake from the box. My husband would not shut up about how much he loved this cake. It was my first ever scratch cake and icing. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This cake is fantastic! Perfectly moist texture and rich flavor. Best chocolate cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was very easy and very tasty! I didn't read through the directions well at first, and panicked because I didn't have the required (total) 90 minutes of chilling time. But, mine didn't need that much time and turned out just fine. I chilled the chocolate/pudding mixture about 20-25 minutes, but only chilled the chocolate/whipped cream mixture about 15 minutes, which was plenty. I think I slightly over-whipped my cream, which may have contributed to the extra stability of my mixture, but it worked out and great. :-) My husband REALLY loved this, and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I didnt use this as frosting, I used it only for a layer of mousse in between two layers of chocolate cake. It is perfect for this! It is very easy to make, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I used a doctored chocolate cake mix recipe from the cake doctor cook book and then made the frosting as directed. My daughter commented that it was the best frosting I have ever made and addicting! I will be using this recipe again and again, it really is very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I did a combination of receipes, as i have my fav. chocolate cake receipe already. I used this for the mousse receipe and it tasted FANTASTIC! I would have Rated it as a 5 star, but the whole cake (made 4 layers of cake, 3 layers of mousse) wasnt able to hold its form at all. I used the outside part of cheesecake pan to put around the whole cake to hold it up. Even being in the fridge for 18hr, when the metal form was lifted off, it started sliding. (I now know why when you order Chocolate Mousse cake, they are individual and have the clear plastic form on the outside holding it together)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
sooooo good JUST how it is. i made this and added a layer of mashed fresh raspberries in the middle of the cake. soooooo delicious. i also had a bunch of the mousse left. so we sliced some strawberries and snacked! YUM! note: i used this in a cake covered in fondont. it was gooey and ripped the fondont so this isnt the greatest for frosting if you need to cover the cake with fondont. it may be ok if you let the mousse sit for a while so it isnt so gooey. (but it may not be as good then)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuzitwasgood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was pretty yummy! I used white baking chocolate and white chocolate instant pudding for the mousee topping, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States