Chocolate Mousse Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
mmmmhh....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wow was this good. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect.. the cake was nice and moist and spongey... And the mousse topping was to die for. I used a bag of Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate chips.. But definately use one with a high cacao %. My chocolate cooled a bit before I mixed it in, so I ended up with little nubs in the mousse.. but I LOVED it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin
Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Amazing cake! Airy and moist, and simply wonderful. I made individual deserts for a party, and they were all gone in less than 15 minutes. People were literally liking their fingers. I did use 100 g of butter, cause 30 seemed too little. And I used 300 g of dark chocolate, and 50 g white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AsiaLiv

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. if you try it bake for 20 minutes not 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was SO good. I needed a dessert for a reduced sugar, gluten free and dairy/lactose free meal and this did the trick! I replaced the sugar with splenda, the cream with cool whip and the butter with margerine. It was STILL good!! I'm giving it 5 stars even though I modified it (some people seem to think that shouldn't be done) because I figure if this tasted so good with the modifications I made it's a pretty stellar recipe! It came out so light and airy but rich, and not too sweet (or not sweet enough) at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Amazing!! I left the ring on the springform pan to try to get the top layer of mousse to mold/set - left it in the fridge for 24 hours. It stayed together for a very short time once served but not once I started cutting it. I might try to place it in the freezer briefly before cutting it next time. Topped it with blueberries. It was so wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe is not worth the trouble. The cake is dense and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made this for my husband's birthday. Light and fluffy. So tasty and I'm not usually a whip cream fan. Not overly sweet and surprisingly light for a no-flour cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina H Leung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Because there is no baking soda or powder, the cake is dense and short. I was expecting a taller cake and it was disappointing. The mousse on top was great and I mixed cocoa powder and powdered sugar together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
A pretty solid recipe. I did need to substitute coolwhip for the cream due to dairy allergy. The base was a bit dry, and that was only baking it for 28 minutes. Other than that I have no other issues. I will note that if you do not like dark chocolate you may want to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States