Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is the best cake. I also make the mousse and serve it with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryberry
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very good cake I make it all the time. I make them into cupcakes sometimes too and just fill the cupcakes with the mousse. Everyone thats ever tasted it loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was fabulous! I just made this for my mother's birthday and people raved! I did not have unsweetened chocolate squares so I substituted 3 tablespoons cocoa powder and 2 tablespoons oil. I also lowered the water to 1/3 of a cup per the other reviews. Otherwise I followed it to the letter and it was outstanding. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday (she is a dessert queen), and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
LOVE this cake! I have made it several times. Be sure to do as the other reviewers have suggested (1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar before whipping the whipping cream & place beaters and bowl in the freezer to keep the whipping cream cold during whipping). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Everyone loved it! I used white cake this time but next time I will make chocolate cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Outstanding!! My 9 year old son asked for a chocolate mousse cake for his birthday and I will admit I was a bit worried it would be too complicated and not come out well, then I found this recipe. Soooo easy! I used a devils food cake mix and followed the recipe exactly. Do make sure you whip your cream until stiff peaks are formed and this cake is best served after setting up in the refrigerator at least 8 hours or overnight. I also divided the cake layers in two so I would have a four layer cake. I think this helps with keeping the cake from sliding because the cake layers are lighter weight which helps keep the mousse from oozing out the sides of the cake. It also makes for a great looking slice of cake! My son LOVED this cake and so did my husband! I will definitely be making this cake again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MESIII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I am strictly rating the Mousse as I used it with another chocolate cake recioe on here called "Black Magic". Mousee was awesome, my husband said it was the perfect Chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this cake twice so far - one with a box cake mix and one from scratch. The cake from scratch tasted a lot better! To cut down on the sweetness, I modified the mousse recipe. I only used about 3/4 can of condensed milk, decreased the water to 1/4 cup, and increased the heavy cream to 2 cups instead of one. I put the mixing bowl and beater in the freezer before I whipped the heavy cream and I mixed in the pudding with a wire whisk. The cake did slide a little when I was frosting it, but I was too impatient to wait for the layers to set in the fridge before I frosted the outside of the cake. I brought the cake to work and got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I've made this a few times now. It's fabulous! I always get lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States