Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made it just like recipe, but, used Yellow Butter Cake. Decreased water to 1/3 cup and added 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar. to whipping cream before whipping, as others recommended. I baked in 3 8in. cake pans, and , when they cooled, I topped ea. layer with raspberry preserves before icing each layer with Mousse. Used remainder of Mousse to ice top and sides of cake. Refrigerated Cake til' next day. Yummy! What a rich and Wonderful dessert, easy to boot!! I will certainly use just the Mousse in stemmed glass ware with raspberries and whipped cream. Thank You.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Easy easy easy. I used Betty Crocker's Gluten Free Devil Cake Mix because my son has celiac disease and then made the mousse as instructed. Came out perfectly. Very simple and seems good. Will find out what the rest of the eaters think when I serve it tomorrow for Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Absolutely heavenly! I doubled the mousse recipe and layered it into a dark chocolate cake along with raspberry filling for my hubby's birthday. He loved it, and I know he will be begging for it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Tastes good, but the pudding mix left the filling with an unappealing gritty appearance. Any suggestions for what could be used instead of the pudding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This cake is simply DELICIOUS!!! It is so moist and the chocolate mouse frosting came out to the perfect consistency. I put my own little spin on it by dividing the cake into 7 1/2inch layers so that there is chocolate mouse in every bite. It also helped make the cake a little more moist...I am making this cake for turkey day this year it is so good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
It looks yumo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
this was so good i used this recipie in my own chocolate cake ,oh my god it was awesome. will use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
yum! so good and easy to make. followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocluvr
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
The taste was really delicious and everyone loved it. However making everything was a big pain in the rear. Did everything per recipe and review instructions. When I put the chocolate mixture (w/o whipped cream) in the fridge for it's 1/2 hr and it came out like a rock. I could not stir it, let alone fold in the whipped cream. Ended up mixing it in the mixer. Once I put it back in the fridge I was really wary of letting it sit for 8 hrs. after 2 hrs i took a little bit out and tried spreading it on the cooled cake. would not spread, way too thick and was pulling up cake with it. Ended up putting in another cup of whipped cream. By then I was able to frost the cake but it was still really difficult. Next time I make this I will: Start out with 1/3 cup water along with 2 cups whipped cream. If it's still too thick I will add enough water to make it the original 1/2 cup. add the cream to the chocolate mixture before putting it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wonderful Cake! My husband & I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States