Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Amazingly good - raves all around. I made two changes (because I didn't have all the ingredients), but I don't think they changed the overall taste at all. The first change I made was to use 6T unsweetened cocoa powder and 2T vegetable oil to sub for the unsweetened chocolate squares. This was better because you didn't need to melt it first. The second was to sub 2C of pre-whipped cream in a can rather than whipping 1C of heavy cream myself. I added it 1C at a time to "lighten" the mix then to make the final mousse. It was so good I may just make that as a quick chocolate mousse and serve it in cups. Oh - and I leveled the tops of the layers before I stacked the cake. It didn't slide around at all on me and the kids loved the pieces I cut off :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
used my scratch chocalte cake recipe and added this mousse !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. Frosting was fairly light but rich. Definitely best served very cold. I think it needed choc curls on the top or as suggested raspberries as it wasn't that pretty when I finished frosting it. One really has to love chocolate to appreciate this cake. I made it for my daughter's birthday and she seemed to like it. I think I'll try another recipe for frosting like this just to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Takes time to make but it is worth it!!!! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made this as a filly in a pound cake, and the left over where awesome with fresh fruit. I made a chocolate one and a white chocolate one. Do the white chocolate I just subsituted the bakers chocolate for white bakers chocolate and chocolate pudding for vanilla. I liked the white version better then the chocolate, but bother were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made this for DD's 14th bday party, and we feasted on the leftovers for a couple of days. Delicious! I used the cake mix with the pudding inside to make it more dense, and the guests enjoyed watching me whip the cream (and tasting the results!). Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
The mousse tasted great. I used 50 cal. Dr. Oetker mousse dessert and it turned out nice and light. However I reluctantly bought boxed choc. cake and it was too fluffy and wouldn't come out of my nonstick pans, I should have buttered and floured the pans I guess. So I remade chocolate cake from scratch and the texture and weight was much better. If you can, make the cake 2 days ahead so the flavor of the cocoa has time to absorb. The last piece I had definitly tasted the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excellent! I made as written and it's a keeper! Very rich and delicious, the b/f is gonna really love this for his Valentines treat ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
For this recipe I chose to make a butter cake instead, not because chocolate didn't sound yummy but because the person I was making it for preferred a white cake. The mouse was incredibly easy to make and so much more delicious than I could have imagined. Make sure to let sit at least the hour after folding in the whipped cream in. I chilled mine for aproxmiatly two. I tasted it before and after and the time just made it even more rich and tasty. I would absolutely recommend this and I will deffinetly be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States