Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I make this cake every year for my husband's birthday. He loves it. I have never had any problems. (knock on wood) I do freeze my bowl and beaters before whipping. I was wondering about using vanilla pudding? To tone down the chocolate. Might not be chocolaty enough? Glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I followed the original recipe first time. It came out so silky smooth, chocolate was out if this weld rich! When I cut each layer in half I put the mousse between and ONG, just fantastic. I kept the cake chilled the whole time because of the shipping cream in the mousse . I want to wellout one of the middle layers next time and put cherry pie filling in it. Oooh this will be gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is one of our favorite recipes. I make a double batch of mousse and then we eat it later. I use fat free condensed milk and sugar/fat free pudding mix and it turns out great. My family is addicted to chocolate so I make it TRIPLE chocolate by sprinkling a generous layer of mini-chocolate chips on each layer. I also refrigerate each part of the recipe until very well chilled and I've never had trouble with this being runny. I really think it is in the whipping cream layer and if you chill the bowl and beaters well before mixing it and then also making sure STIFF peaks form. The post-mixing refrigeration helps as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
great recipe. i get raves whenever I make it. I have used a 1/2 a cup of coffee instead of water to make mousse and sometimes I;ve used coffee in place of water to the cake mix. I have also tried this recipe using lemon cake mix, lemon pudding or vanilla an added lemon to make a lemon mousse cake. Both are favorites with my freinds and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is our go to birthday dessert. I like to make 3 or 4 layers for my cake as I find there is lots of mousse. I also cut the water down to 1/3 cup to make thicker mousse. You can easily use scratch chocolate cake instead of box if you like. I like to use Suzanne's chocolate cake recipe I found online.. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great!The frosting is a pain (in comparison to regular frosting), but it sure is tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Super easy as written, but can make with homemade recipes if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was really good and pretty simple. Made it for hubby's birthday and everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Used unsweetened cocoa powder (reconstituted according to pkg directions), which saved time and made it so we didn't really need to wait to add the whipped cream (since the mixture was already cool). Made this even quicker and easier, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States