Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This rating is for the mousse ONLY - The reason is that it was so delicious, it didn't need the cake! We tasted the mousse and LOVED it, so we decided to enjoy it on its own. I may try putting it in mini graham cracker pie shells for something extra, but either way, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I only gave it four stars because it was a bit of work..however......This cake is awesome! I will most certainly make this again and again. huge hit at my house. Thank you very very much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Used my chocolate cake recipe with the mousse.This was excellent!Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
TO SUM UP ALL THE REVIEWS: YOU MUST do these changes and you will have PERFECT results! Add 1/4 tsp cream of tartar to heavy cream before whipping. CHILL the bowl and mixers you will use to whip the heavy whipping cream for atleast one hour in the freezer. After baking the cake and letting sit for 10 minutes to cool immediately wrap cake tightly in plastic wrap(a very successful wedding cake baker gave me this tip) It will make the cake SUPER moist! After wrapping the cake put in fridge until completely cool or if you have time let cake sit out until completely cool. You must follow the recipe and cool everything for its specified times or mousse will end up runny. Fold in mousse like stated! VERY important! Do NOT stir! Fold and fold until completely incorporated. ALSO, change the amount of water you add to chocolate mixture to 1/3 cup. I used two dark 9in pans for the cake. I cooked my cake for 30 minutes at 325deg. The mousse is so unbelievably decadent and delicious! My cake turned out PERFECT! VERY best cake recipe out there! I did use a yellow cake mix b/c I feared chocolate may be a bit over the top(and im a chocoholic!) im glad I did, the mousse is SO rich! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Yes, indeed, everyone DID think I bought it at a bakery! Simply delicious. Oh, and bonus: I had leftover mousse that I served up in schmancy stemware just for fun. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Mmmmmmmmmmmmm-I loved this mousse. I did chill the bowl and beaters; so the cream would beat up quick and stiff peaks. That is important. I folded 1/3 of the cream at a time into the chocolate mixture. This way it leaves no streaks. I chilled this for 20 minutes and than split the cake into 4 layers and filled and frosted. It made a wonderful 80th birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made the mousse part to go with another cake recipe from this site. The frosting was really easy to put together. I got lazy and opted to buy a container of cool whip instead and I think that affected the end result. When I frosted it on the cake, it felt runny. Maybe next time I'll try to whip up the heavy cream myself. But overall, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
OMG I love love this cake and so does my family!!! Its simple to make yet so delicious, if you are trying to make chocolate cake, MAKE THIS ONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I used the chocolate mousse from this recipe with the cake from the Too Much Chocolate Cake recipe and boy was it a hit! My brother has already requested a modified version of this cake for his birthday, next March!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I used this as my Mousse to go along with 'Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake".... lets just say sooo easy and sooo good! My mom had to make a cake for work a few days later and used this as icing. But with sweetened chocolate, and was still good. Awesome recipe will def use again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cos Cob, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States