Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this cake twice so far - one with a box cake mix and one from scratch. The cake from scratch tasted a lot better! To cut down on the sweetness, I modified the mousse recipe. I only used about 3/4 can of condensed milk, decreased the water to 1/4 cup, and increased the heavy cream to 2 cups instead of one. I put the mixing bowl and beater in the freezer before I whipped the heavy cream and I mixed in the pudding with a wire whisk. The cake did slide a little when I was frosting it, but I was too impatient to wait for the layers to set in the fridge before I frosted the outside of the cake. I brought the cake to work and got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I've made this a few times now. It's fabulous! I always get lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This mousse was fabulous. I didn't use a box mix, rather I used the recipe "One Bowl Chocolate Cake III". The results were wonderful. I did find the mousse a little difficult to spread, and in the future I may tweak this a little to modify the consistency. The taste though is really fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Goodness in a couple of boxes... Yummy! My frosting came out more like thick pudding instead of whipped, but it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My boyfriend requested this for his birthday! I made it EXACTLY as the recipe called for> turned out AMAZING!!!! this on is definately a permanent resident in my cookbook! Ok so am going to make an addition to my review! I wanted something different for MY birthday, so I substituted french vanilla cake, white chocolate and white chocoloate pudding and garnished with raspberries! WOW YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonie70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
The filling/frosting is delicious...my husband and I couldn't stop eating it. It does help in step#2 to stir in the pudding with a wire whisk to help dissolve the pudding so you don't have a gritty texture. I plan to make the filling as a chocolate mousse dessert alone next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Phenomenal! Instead of a layer cake (which I do not have good luck with) I made a 9x13 cake and poked holes in it after cooling. I then let the mousse ooze in to the holes and then spread a good portion over the top. The result was fantastic! Everyone loved it! I did use only 1/4 cup of water instead of the 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
absolutley fantastic!! The only things I changed were I made the cake and mousse from scratch. I used devils chocolate cake and chocolate mouse (Both Martha recipes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess015

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
tasted like pudding..i mean it tasted good but it just wasnt a good mousse/filling/frosting. i made a different frosting from this site to top which was phenomenal. ill stick with that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryzc
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
the chocolate mousse was delicious! i couldn't stop licking the spoon, while my husband waited for the empty bowl...this is definitely a keeper. i did follow some suggestions like cutting water down to 1/4 c., making sure that the bowl & mixer was cold prior to whipping the cream, and folding in 1/3 of the cream mixture at a time...i also added about over a tbls of powder sugar to the cream. the end result was very rich---i cannot wait to make this chocolate mousse frosting with homemade chocolate cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryzc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States