Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Made this for Valentine's Day and it was a big hit. The frosting is unbelievable. I did add orange zest and triple sec to the cake because I like the flavor combination. I will be making this again & again and trying different flavor combinations. Perhaps coffee will be next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I've made this multiple times following the directions exactly and it has turned out great every time! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Have made this twice for 2 dinner parties, everyone wanted the recipe and leftovers but there wasn't any. Will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
5 stars for the mousse! I used a dark chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved this. The mousse is quite stiff so you can mound it high up on the cake. The cake is a box mix so nothing interesting there. But the mousse, considering it has no eggs, would be a fabulous dessert on its own. I would add an extra 1/2c of whipped cream (so 1 1/2 in total) just to make the mousse lighter if you were using it on its own. some instant coffee in the water mixture would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Not sure what all the fuss is about. I followed the recipe exactly and it tastes like a plain chocolate cake with chocolate whipped cream. Nothing special. I baked it in two layers, frosted liberally and while it was very pretty in presentation, it lacked a lot in the taste department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dickson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made it just like recipe, but, used Yellow Butter Cake. Decreased water to 1/3 cup and added 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar. to whipping cream before whipping, as others recommended. I baked in 3 8in. cake pans, and , when they cooled, I topped ea. layer with raspberry preserves before icing each layer with Mousse. Used remainder of Mousse to ice top and sides of cake. Refrigerated Cake til' next day. Yummy! What a rich and Wonderful dessert, easy to boot!! I will certainly use just the Mousse in stemmed glass ware with raspberries and whipped cream. Thank You.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Easy easy easy. I used Betty Crocker's Gluten Free Devil Cake Mix because my son has celiac disease and then made the mousse as instructed. Came out perfectly. Very simple and seems good. Will find out what the rest of the eaters think when I serve it tomorrow for Christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Absolutely heavenly! I doubled the mousse recipe and layered it into a dark chocolate cake along with raspberry filling for my hubby's birthday. He loved it, and I know he will be begging for it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Tastes good, but the pudding mix left the filling with an unappealing gritty appearance. Any suggestions for what could be used instead of the pudding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States