Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
this cake was wonderful. instead of l/2 cup of water i used 1/4 cup. i also used a yellow cake mix and used vanilla instant pudding. i got rave reviews from all my family, this one is a keeper. mary jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe and really fairly simple. I love that it used a boxed mix, sure one can develop cake making into an art, but a mix is so much simpler. The mousse was simple and fantastic. I made this for a church dinner and got rave reviews and my kids and husband are begging for their chance to eat the whole cake and not share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Kenyon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good- I made a from scratch chocolate cake and frosted with the mousse. It was very rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
My husband love it will make again! Took it to my church dinner last night everyone love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRAJON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
SOOOOO good, used aunt mary's chocolate cake in place of the box, but nothing else different. Nobody could get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Way too sugary, rich, and sweet, but not especially chocolatey. I was not impressed, and will not make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
The mousse was DELICIOUS! I followed the recommendations of others and added the cream of tartar to the whipping cream and definitely made sure that it whipped up to stiff peaks. Took awhile, but I think it was worth it. This was very rich cake, I used devil's food cake, good, but probably a little too rich for me to have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I make this frosting for my chocolate cakes all the time and it's very delicious and spread nicely and easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Great taste, very rich! So, I'm beating the chocolate mixture with the hand-hel mixer and suddenly there's an electrical burning smell and the beaters start to smoke. Needless to say, I finished mixing by hand. When it came time to add the cream, since I couldn't whip it, I just added an entire can of redi-whip and mixed it in. Surprisingly, it worked just fine. :) For a slightly deeper chocolate taste, I did add one tablespoon of dry instant coffee to the water to add just a hint of mocha. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Fabulous mousse cake..Made it for my son , a big fan of it, and he came here the next day to finish it. Very easy to make, I use milk chocoalte cake mix, and had no problem with the mousse, but did follow others advice to beat he cream very thick and froze the bowl and beaters. thanks for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele F.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States