Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica Kane
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made my own cake, but mousse was great. Have it 4 stars because it's not as airy as I'd hoped for. However, if you want an easy quick mousse without eggs, it's perfect! I should've read the review which says to add cream of tarter to cream, I'm sure that would've helped. Lastly I added a thin cream cheese filling layer, made sure it wasn't overly sweet to balance the mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by surme2ynot
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
So good! I followed the recipe to the tee and it was perfect. I garnished with raspberries and snowflakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Effort, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The recipe turned out perfectly as stated. My guests raved about the cake. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne M Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I made this as our wedding cake and it was wonderful. Everyone loved it, and people could not believe that I made it. Since the wedding, I have had many requests for me to make it again. I did make slight modifications as others have mentioned such as reducing the amt of cold water to 1/4-1/3 c. I also added 1/4 tsp cream of tartar to the whipping cream before whipping and I chilled the bowl and whisk in the freezer before whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CONNERS
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I've made this cake a few times & it has turned into a family favorite. Chilling the beaters & whipped cream bowl helps & I also add a little less than a 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar to the whipping cream. Raspberries are a nice complement to the chocolate & look nice. They need to be dry when putting them on the cake. I also like to pipe melted white chocolate onto wax paper lined cookie sheet spelling out Happy Birthday... It sets almost instantly in the freezer after a couple of minutes & you can just gently lift the words off & place them on the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I did the 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar and froze the bowl and busters prior to whipping the cream. It came out perfect on the first try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was a great recipe! I made this for the triple chocolate cake I made for my husband's birthday (he likes chocolate). Whilst it did take some time and you MUST refrigerate it before mixing in the cream, this makes an awesome frosting. This was in the top 3 of my husband's favorite frostings I've made for him. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Excellent chocolate mousse recipe! Very easy but ver good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Simonin-Sharkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made this cake for a friend of mine who loves chocolate and it was a hit! Very easy to make. I'm not big on chocolate but I ate every bit of this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This cake is by far the best cake I've ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States