Chocolate Mousse Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CONNERS
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I've made this cake a few times & it has turned into a family favorite. Chilling the beaters & whipped cream bowl helps & I also add a little less than a 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar to the whipping cream. Raspberries are a nice complement to the chocolate & look nice. They need to be dry when putting them on the cake. I also like to pipe melted white chocolate onto wax paper lined cookie sheet spelling out Happy Birthday... It sets almost instantly in the freezer after a couple of minutes & you can just gently lift the words off & place them on the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I did the 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar and froze the bowl and busters prior to whipping the cream. It came out perfect on the first try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was a great recipe! I made this for the triple chocolate cake I made for my husband's birthday (he likes chocolate). Whilst it did take some time and you MUST refrigerate it before mixing in the cream, this makes an awesome frosting. This was in the top 3 of my husband's favorite frostings I've made for him. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
hi. i wanted to try this recipe but when I saw it used a box mix, I did not. I have always thought it was 'cheating' to use a box mix. I have been a scratch cook all my life and feel it is more . well, just better to use fresh ingredients and not so many preservatives and sodium this and aluminum that; some things one cannot even pronounce. I would like to know that you all feel about this. Am i being old fashioned or do you not mind what you are eating. No offense meant. I would just like to know. thanks for listening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahn Yisrael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Excellent chocolate mousse recipe! Very easy but ver good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made this cake for a friend of mine who loves chocolate and it was a hit! Very easy to make. I'm not big on chocolate but I ate every bit of this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This cake is by far the best cake I've ever eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
OMGOSH!!!!! So good! I did do 2 cups of heavy cream after trying it with the one. What a difference! The only problem was there was so much frosting the cake shifted after slicing. Easy fix. Less frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I make this cake every year for my husband's birthday. He loves it. I have never had any problems. (knock on wood) I do freeze my bowl and beaters before whipping. I was wondering about using vanilla pudding? To tone down the chocolate. Might not be chocolaty enough? Glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I followed the original recipe first time. It came out so silky smooth, chocolate was out if this weld rich! When I cut each layer in half I put the mousse between and ONG, just fantastic. I kept the cake chilled the whole time because of the shipping cream in the mousse . I want to wellout one of the middle layers next time and put cherry pie filling in it. Oooh this will be gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States