Chocolate Mousse Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! My father used to make this exact recipe when I was young 30+ years ago and it tastes exactly as I remember.....pure heaven!I made the mousse following the recipe and added raspberries around the sides, shaved chocolate for the middle and drizzled a chocolate sauce thru the berries. I will keep making this again and again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I cut the ladyfingers on one end (just enough to reach the height of the pan) and very lightly sprayed the pan with PAM. The ladyfingers were impossible to stand up perfectly, but it was done after about, I don't know...an hour!!! anyway, this tasted delicious. I too added powdered sugar and vanilla extract to the cream. I will not do the ladyfinger thing again, I'll tell you that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I though I messed up but the result was still good. My mistake was to beat the heavy cream and the egg whites too much. It made them hard to integrate to the chocolate mixture. I'm sure the result would have been a lighter mousse had I not done that. It still turned out great though, so really it's a great recipe. Just be aware of that. Also, I followed someone else's advice to refrigerate in the fridge and then the freezer, and I'm glad I did. It was very refreshing. I did 4h in the fridge and 1h in the freezer; next time I'll try 30 min or 1h more in the freezer, I think it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I am so happy to find this recipe. It is very similar to one I had years ago and cannot seem to find. I always added a bit of sugar to the whipped cream as one reviewer stated and also used fresh raspberries. I love the combination of chocolate and raspberries! The only other difference I see is that I don not line the bottom of the springform pan with ladyfingers, just the sides and I freeze it for one hour and then refrigerate for 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This excellent recipe, this awesome dessert, has been remarkably neglected and apparently ignored for nearly six years and I'm amazed. This dessert is gorgeous. Delicious. And decadent. Without question the piece de resistance of tonight's dinner. This is not difficult to make but does require a few extra steps and a couple of extra bowls but oh, boy, what a pay-off. Creamy, velvety smooth, fluffy and light as a feather with just the right intensity of chocolate flavor. I made half the recipe and it worked perfectly with a 7" springform pan. I added two tablespoons of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla to the one cup of whipping cream in that half recipe. Curiously, according to the recipe a 12-oz. package of ladyfingers should have been used for a half recipe, yet the 3-oz. package of ladyfingers I had covered the bottom and sides of the pan exactly. (Come to think of it, I've never seen a 12-oz. package of ladyfingers) I plated this with a chocolate syrup drizzle, whipped cream and fresh raspberries. I was proud and thrilled to serve this beautiful dessert tonight and hope that with this review (and my posted photos) others will be encouraged to try it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I made this cake for Thanksgiving and it tasted like a piece of heaven!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This is a very easy and tastey chocolate mousse. I've made many chocolate mousses with the ladyfingers, but none were this easy. I could not find ladyfingers any stores, so instead I used thin slices of pound cake. I also added powdered sugar and a touch of vanilla when whipping the cream. Served it at a dinner party and everyone loved it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I love this recipe. It was easy and very good. However, the only reason why I am not giving it five stars is because, in just reading the ingredients, and in tasting as I went along, I thought it needed a little sugar in the whipping cream. I added about 3 tablespoons of sugar and it had just enough sweetness to add a little oomph. Also, I decorated it with fresh raspberries and cool whip which both offset the richness of the mousse. This recipe will become a standard in my kitchen for those special occasions when you want something a little unique. And it was so easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I love this recipe. It's quick and easy, yet everybody that has a piece can't believe it's not time consuming. My children help make it, and that also says a lot. I've downloaded this several times because I keep wearing out the print! I've mixed in different types of chcolate for a variation, and it always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was pretty good and fairly easy. Everyone finished their cake, but I felt like something was missing. Maybe a little sherry, or extra chocolate? Maybe with chocolate cake? I don't know, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States