Chocolate Mousse Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Janet4ta
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Rich and delicious! I took the advice of the other reviewers and used a Ghiardelli box brownie mix for the base because I wanted to save myself some work and time. The mousse and ganache were very good. I used blanched slivered almonds for the garnish instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Amazing. Yes to the box brownie recipe, worked well. I could have gotten away with halving the ganache part, I ended up with lots left over. However I ended up just dipping pretzels in it after so...there you go. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this was an exlellent cake, did not care for how hard the bottom was , will use a different cake or brownie mix when i make later today..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe was a big let down. The bottom cake was tasteless, and didn't mesh with the texture of the mousse. I think it really needed a crust with more crunch. The mousse itself was incredibly rich, but it didn't offer much else. Just a poor combination of flavors and textures in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Though i do not like mousse cake but i tried this cake for my friends and it turn out they were swooning. keeping in mind the reviews i made some ammendments. i followed toe mousse part but for the i cake i followed this recipe 1 + 1/2 cup (170 g) all-purpose flour 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (dutched/dark) 2 teaspoons baking powder 2 pinches salt 1 cup (220 g) sugar 2 teaspoons vanilla essence 1/2 cup (1.2 dl) milk or water 1/2 cup (1.2 dl) vegetable oil (flavorless) 2 eggs i used dark choclate for the mousee and extra dark choclate for ganche . for ganache i took 150gm of extra dark choc, 100ml cream and 1 tbsp butter and Voila. i halved the cake and made a waffer choc pie with the remaining mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsSnarkyPants
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is delicious but I do agree with the other commenters who say the cake base is too dense. I think it would be find if it was about half as thick, as it wouldn't overpower the mousse that way and would still be thick enough to hold up the rest of the cake. That or I really like the idea about the brownie as the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The mousse part was quite tasty but did not have a mousse texture. It was more like straight whipped cream in substance. The cake part was just weird. We ended up scooping the top to use as an ice cream topping and tossing out the cake. Sorry, can't recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This recipe is outstanding...I have made this twice...the first time, I made it and stuck it right in the freezer after assembling because I was making a ton of food for a party, and the mousse didn't set properly but still received rave reviews...the second time, I left in the fridge for two days according to the instructions, and it set up perfectly. For the second time, I followed another reviewers suggestion, and used a brownie bottom, and used the Chocolate Ganache recipe posted by another on this site http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolate-Ganache/Detail.aspx and it was divine. I made the ganache and poured it on the cake after it sat in the fridge for the two days, and then popped the whole thing in the freezer again until the weekend (for another party). Thank you Kristen...everyone said this was as good as or better than any bakery cake they've had. I would give it 10 stars if I could for all the accolades I received on this. It is SO rich...I need to brush my teeth immediately after eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Use different cake recipe. Stick with the mousse part. Cake comes out hard as a disc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I substituted bittersweet chocolate for the mousse b/c we prefer a slightly less sweet chocolate taste. While the taste was wonderfully rich, I would recommend either more thorough instructions for making the mousse or advise the baker to read up on the trad French method. In my attempt to reduce the risk of salmonella, I kept the chocolate mixture over heat, which basically deflated all of the air in my egg whites when I folded them in. I have since educated myself on this, so I won't make the same mistake. Oh, and definitely leave yourself the 2 days for this to set...maybe adding a bit of cream of tartar to your egg whites may help in stabilizing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States