Chocolate Mousse Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This was a great recipe that was easy to put together. The flavor is great and while it is very rich the texture is light enough that it really does seem like a mousse cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Yummy. This was really good. Kind of a cross between a brownie and the inside of a truffle. Rich chocolaty goodness. I did use coffee instead of water, it didn't give it a coffee flavor just enhanced the chocolate. Just a little tip before you just dump the eggs into the hot chocolate mix take a little of the chocolate and beat it into the eggs to bring up the temp of the eggs so they don't scramble on you. I used a gravy ladle to add about 1/2 cup of the chocolate into the eggs. I topped with whipped cream and a berry sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Loved this! I liked the crusty edges right out of the oven (but left them in the interest of serving to my family without looking like the birds had been after it). After 2 days in the frig, this was like eating fudge. Unfortunately, mine was a little grainy, but that was my fault. Maybe not a bad idea to pour the batter through a sieve on the way to the pan in case the eggs have not been tempered correctly. As for flavor, none of us noticed any egginess or strong coffee flavor, just rich chocolate. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious and chocolaty cake. I used milk instead of water though. This cake rose quite a bit while it baked and then fell right back down. As per another reviewer's advice I made this cake a few days in advance of serving. The cake practically melted in my mouth. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was really really good, but be warned it is best after being refrigerated for more than a day. I made it for some gluten free friends and couldn't in good conscience serve it when I tasted it after having it refrigerated overnight, but after a full 24 hours in the fridge it was good, but the next day it tasted fantastic, much better with age this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
The only thing that would make this better is using chocolate whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Pretty awesome, and this from someone who doesn't like chocolate all that much... I made two tiny cakes- basically 1/4 the recipe, and that was enough chocolatly goodness to last me a month. To answer an earlier reviewer, my husband doesn't like coffee, so I left that out of the mix, only to find it VERY watery... so I kept adding powdered cocoa and a *little* flour, until I thought it was the right texture. I couldn't begin to tell you how much I added- just a little at a time, until it looked right. So yes, you can do without the coffee, and it tastes fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I misread this recipe and only used 3 eggs! Due to this mistake, I have no idea what the texture is supposed to be like...mine came out like a cross between a mousse and ganache. Accordingly, it was somewhat difficult to slice and serve. I will use more eggs the next time I make it...but since another reviewer called it "eggy," I probably won't use all 8. Despite my mistake, the end result was rich, decadent and had a heavenly flavor. The balance of chocolate to coffee was very nice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This cake had a wonderful rich chocolate flavor but was way to "eggy" tasting for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States