Chocolate Mousse Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This tasted really good and it was a hit but I'm not sure if it turned out or not. The cake rose beautifully in the oven and about 15 minutes of cooling it fell. Is it supposed to do that? As good as it tasted I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe is simple and should taste excellent, but I am not a big coffee/chocolate fan and this has a very strong coffee taste to it. Has anyone tried it without the coffee?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
I think this recipe is absolutely delicious! My sister and brother and I all love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious and chocolaty cake. I used milk instead of water though. This cake rose quite a bit while it baked and then fell right back down. As per another reviewer's advice I made this cake a few days in advance of serving. The cake practically melted in my mouth. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I misread this recipe and only used 3 eggs! Due to this mistake, I have no idea what the texture is supposed to be like...mine came out like a cross between a mousse and ganache. Accordingly, it was somewhat difficult to slice and serve. I will use more eggs the next time I make it...but since another reviewer called it "eggy," I probably won't use all 8. Despite my mistake, the end result was rich, decadent and had a heavenly flavor. The balance of chocolate to coffee was very nice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
With a pound of chocolate as part of the recipe, how can it not be GREAT?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Yummy. This was really good. Kind of a cross between a brownie and the inside of a truffle. Rich chocolaty goodness. I did use coffee instead of water, it didn't give it a coffee flavor just enhanced the chocolate. Just a little tip before you just dump the eggs into the hot chocolate mix take a little of the chocolate and beat it into the eggs to bring up the temp of the eggs so they don't scramble on you. I used a gravy ladle to add about 1/2 cup of the chocolate into the eggs. I topped with whipped cream and a berry sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Pretty awesome, and this from someone who doesn't like chocolate all that much... I made two tiny cakes- basically 1/4 the recipe, and that was enough chocolatly goodness to last me a month. To answer an earlier reviewer, my husband doesn't like coffee, so I left that out of the mix, only to find it VERY watery... so I kept adding powdered cocoa and a *little* flour, until I thought it was the right texture. I couldn't begin to tell you how much I added- just a little at a time, until it looked right. So yes, you can do without the coffee, and it tastes fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This cake had a wonderful rich chocolate flavor but was way to "eggy" tasting for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States