Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
this is nice but i hated it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've tried innumerable different chocolate mousse recipes, as it's one of my favorite desserts, but to no avail. After a while, I just gave up. But I took a trip to NC and had a delicious chocolate mousse, and a few months after I got home, I was desperate to recreate that experience, so I searched all over for a good recipe. I stumbled upon this one, and I'm SO glad I did! I absolutely LOVE it!!! I'll never use any other chocolate mousse recipe. Thank you! The only thing I did differently than the recipe is that I didn't add the extra white sugar to the cream. I don't like my mousses too sweet. It was perfect! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Kahlua and chocolate? How can this be anything but five stars? This is a sinful, effortless dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was excited about this recipe. With all the good reviews and simple instructions how could I go wrong. Unfortunately, the first time my chocolate mixture seized before I could add the egg yolk. The second attempt iit seized while it was cooling. I went ahead and added it to the whipped cream hoping it would mix, but it just turned into whipped cream with chocolate chunks. I'd love some tips on how to remedy this as I'm usually a decent cook and can follow good directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Tried this recipe for my bookclub members and they all loved it except for one who isn't a fan of coffee taste. I used Kahlua but did not taste it at all. I also added almond extract, vanilla, and Kahlua in the whip cream for the topping and that provided a fantastic complimentary taste to the mousse. I dusted the topping with nutmeg and added a sliced strawberry to each serving. It made a beautful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EC Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Sooo easy and well-received! Instead of Kahlua, I used peppermint liqueur with great results, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsa:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Easy to make and delicious...husband loved it! I added some espresso coffee, about 2 tablespoons with the eggs. Also added a tablespoon of Gran Marnier instead of coffee liqeur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Meowsandy it could be the type of chocolate or too much liquor. You need a certain amount of fats to balance your liquor or the chocolate will seize. Try a higher % cocoa butter in your chocolate (Ghirardelli is great) and maybe a dribble of butter or veg oil. Add the liquor only in the amount called for, or use instant coffe or coffe flavored drink mix. Also, use a double boiler and melt VERY slowly. Cook too fast and it will seize. Hope this helps you! As for the recipe, it was ok. It was more like a thick chocolate whipped cream than a mousse. I used it in my crepes, so it sufficed, but next time I will find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Super easy! Delicious by itself, but I used it to pipe around triple chocolate raspberry cake. It was awesome! Tripled the recipe. Used a little less sugar in the whipped cream and used a tablespoon of white wine and two tablespoons of strong coffee instead of liqueur. Came out fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I do not have the time (or expertise) to make true, French-cuisine mousse. I took a leap of faith and made this, for the first time, for dinner guests. Let me just say: This recipe is rich, delicious, elegant with a francais debonair. In every way, it gives the *appearance* of an insane amount of time and effort. But, it is one of the easiest desserts I've ever made. Turns out, it was a hit with my guests and was quickly devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailie1
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States