Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I enjoyed it. Was super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Didn't have Kahlua so just used extra vanilla extract in its place. Did not have that one person's difficulty with the chocolate and I even used cheap-o Kroger brand generic semi-sweet chocolate chips. You have to stir continuously over low heat (2 on my stove) - I didn't even need a double boiler! Next time I think I'll beat the whipped cream just a little stiffer than the recipe dictates, to allow for the falling of the cream that occurs when you add the chocolate. The taste and texture are divine. Recipe is super easy and my 11-year-old daughter loved being able to help. Recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Caldwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I find that this is even better if left refrigerated at least 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port-Au-Prince, Ouest, Haiti
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Delicious! I just made this for the filling of my cream puffs. They are delicious! I've never made mousse before and I just know my family will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vermontmaple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winooski, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Hartland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Meowsandy it could be the type of chocolate or too much liquor. You need a certain amount of fats to balance your liquor or the chocolate will seize. Try a higher % cocoa butter in your chocolate (Ghirardelli is great) and maybe a dribble of butter or veg oil. Add the liquor only in the amount called for, or use instant coffe or coffe flavored drink mix. Also, use a double boiler and melt VERY slowly. Cook too fast and it will seize. Hope this helps you! As for the recipe, it was ok. It was more like a thick chocolate whipped cream than a mousse. I used it in my crepes, so it sufficed, but next time I will find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was excited about this recipe. With all the good reviews and simple instructions how could I go wrong. Unfortunately, the first time my chocolate mixture seized before I could add the egg yolk. The second attempt iit seized while it was cooling. I went ahead and added it to the whipped cream hoping it would mix, but it just turned into whipped cream with chocolate chunks. I'd love some tips on how to remedy this as I'm usually a decent cook and can follow good directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Super easy! Delicious by itself, but I used it to pipe around triple chocolate raspberry cake. It was awesome! Tripled the recipe. Used a little less sugar in the whipped cream and used a tablespoon of white wine and two tablespoons of strong coffee instead of liqueur. Came out fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent dessert! I made a few adjustments; replaced the Kahlua with Grand Marnier, used a mixture of dark & semi sweet chips, and cut the amount of sugar in half. It was fabulous. I caught a grown man running his finger around his dessert dish to get the very last bit:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband made this for the first time yesterday. He quadrupled it for company. It was fantastic. The most beautiful, rich, delicious mousse! Usually I'm the candy/dessert maker in the family, but he whipped this out. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe for my mother who loves Chocolate Mousse. I didn't use the liqueur at all but just melted the chips in a double boiler and followed the rest of the directions. My mother loves it and so do I. Even my two year old wanted more. I did quadruple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States