Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Delicious! I just made this for the filling of my cream puffs. They are delicious! I've never made mousse before and I just know my family will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vermontmaple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winooski, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Hartland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Meowsandy it could be the type of chocolate or too much liquor. You need a certain amount of fats to balance your liquor or the chocolate will seize. Try a higher % cocoa butter in your chocolate (Ghirardelli is great) and maybe a dribble of butter or veg oil. Add the liquor only in the amount called for, or use instant coffe or coffe flavored drink mix. Also, use a double boiler and melt VERY slowly. Cook too fast and it will seize. Hope this helps you! As for the recipe, it was ok. It was more like a thick chocolate whipped cream than a mousse. I used it in my crepes, so it sufficed, but next time I will find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I was excited about this recipe. With all the good reviews and simple instructions how could I go wrong. Unfortunately, the first time my chocolate mixture seized before I could add the egg yolk. The second attempt iit seized while it was cooling. I went ahead and added it to the whipped cream hoping it would mix, but it just turned into whipped cream with chocolate chunks. I'd love some tips on how to remedy this as I'm usually a decent cook and can follow good directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Super easy! Delicious by itself, but I used it to pipe around triple chocolate raspberry cake. It was awesome! Tripled the recipe. Used a little less sugar in the whipped cream and used a tablespoon of white wine and two tablespoons of strong coffee instead of liqueur. Came out fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent dessert! I made a few adjustments; replaced the Kahlua with Grand Marnier, used a mixture of dark & semi sweet chips, and cut the amount of sugar in half. It was fabulous. I caught a grown man running his finger around his dessert dish to get the very last bit:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My husband made this for the first time yesterday. He quadrupled it for company. It was fantastic. The most beautiful, rich, delicious mousse! Usually I'm the candy/dessert maker in the family, but he whipped this out. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe for my mother who loves Chocolate Mousse. I didn't use the liqueur at all but just melted the chips in a double boiler and followed the rest of the directions. My mother loves it and so do I. Even my two year old wanted more. I did quadruple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Delicious and easy to make! A big hit, I just wish that I had made more than a sextuple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Sooo easy and well-received! Instead of Kahlua, I used peppermint liqueur with great results, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsa:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Tried this recipe for my bookclub members and they all loved it except for one who isn't a fan of coffee taste. I used Kahlua but did not taste it at all. I also added almond extract, vanilla, and Kahlua in the whip cream for the topping and that provided a fantastic complimentary taste to the mousse. I dusted the topping with nutmeg and added a sliced strawberry to each serving. It made a beautful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EC Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States