Chocolate Mocha Liqueur Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
WOW,THIS CAKE IS SO MOIST AND DELISH.I ADDED 2TBPS MORE OF LIQUEUR TO THE SAUCE,ALSO FOR THE SAUCE I ADDED LIQUEUR AFTER I BOILED SUGAR MIX,POKED HOLES IN CAKE AND POURED SAUCE IN SLOWLY.THIS IS VERY GOOD WITH OR WITHOUT ICE CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Unbelievably good cake. Made this for a July 4th celebration and several people had two pieces at the party. The only thing I will change next time is I will save some of the sauce to pour over the top of the cake once I have removed it from the bundt pan. Even out the liqueur flavor throughout the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is a great "adult" cake to serve company. Oddly, it seems less sweet than most cakes. I have used any type of chocolate cake mix I happen to have on hand. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
5 Stars for EASY - 4 for taste. Second time I made, I didn't have all the right ingredients, so I modified a bit with crushed Chocolate Chip Teddy Grahams and peanuts for the crust, instant vanilla pudding instead of chocolate, and instant coffee diluted with water instead of liqueur - we liked it just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Wow! This was fantastic!! You definitely want to poke many holes in the cake after it bakes. I used about an eighth of a cup more of the coffee liqueur to pour over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
YUMMY!! Just made this for the 2nd time now. Its going to be a new fav in my house. I also poked holes in the cake this time before pouring sauce over it and used more liqueur than water in the sauce. MMM MMM MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Made this cake for my husbands birthday, it was a big hit! It was super moist and has a wonderful flavor. I'll be making this again and again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Holy Toledo! This cake is fantastic! I used what I had or didn't have on hand. I didn't have any pudding mix so I just cut the eggs back to 3. I had both Coffee Liqueur and Creme de Cocoa so I put the creme de cocoa in the cake and used the coffee liqueur for the sauce. Also, with the sauce I think I just used all liqueur and no water (it's been that kind of week), and I was running very low on margarine/butter so I used Cream of Coconut I had on hand. FABULOUS CAKE!! I was worried my cake would stick to my obstinate bundt pan so I dusted the pan with sugar. The result of everything, including the sugar dusting, was a wonderfully sauced cake, a lightly crunchy coating, drool worthy sauce (what didn't soak into the cake making it super moist), a great texture, and a cake that holds itself together. It was a little rich, but then again my makeshift ingredients were sweeter than called for. At any rate, this is a new staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Ever since making this for friends the first time, it's requested any time I ask if I can bring dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States