Chocolate Mocha Liqueur Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I prefer to make recipes that are highly reviewed, so I was a little hesitant. But I'm so glad I made this!! It is the best, moist cake I've ever eaten. It's a keeper for sure. I didn't think the alcohol was overpowering at all. It was a perfect blend of yummy goodness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This cake is great. But I think it was better the next day once the liquor had time to soak in. I ditched the vodka and used all Kahlua. Also - I didn't make the glaze, instead opted for some nutella and serving w/coffee ice cream. Definitely was a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
my alcohol loving friends liked it, however i used smirnoff (i have very little knowledge of alcohol) and thought that the smirnoff was way overpowering. the texture and chocolate flavor were excellent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This cake is awesome! It is now my go to chocolate cake. I took the advise of other reviewers and used a dark chocolate cake mix. Instead of plain water I used 3/4 cup of cold coffee. Everything else stayed the same. I will definately being making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is the best cake I have ever tasted and I don't typically eat cake. I love this cake and make it all the time. Very, very easy. You will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Pearson
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This cake is insanely good. Words can't describe how moist it was. I used dark chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding mix, mixed in 2 tbsp instant coffee in with the 3/4 cup water, used about 1/3 cup Kahlua, no vodka, used one small container of applesauce and just 1/2 cup veggie oil and I didn't use the glaze. Instead, I used chocolate ganache with a tbsp of Kahlua mixed in. My fiance and our friends loved this cake for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wonderful cake - I used one of the reviews and cut back the oil to 1/4 c, using 4 eggs. I also used dark chocolate cake mix, chocolate pudding and cointreau instead of vodka. Magnificent. I will use this cake as a base and work with several other liquers as it gets rave reviews from company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Wonderful cake especially for coffee lovers. Made exactly as written - moist, good keeper and worthy of the 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This cake turned out delicious. I modified the mix using Organic Chocolate cake mix (thanks CCybermom) and then added a ring of dark chocolate chips in the middle of the cake. Once finished, melted some dark chocolate and spoon drizzled a coating over the glaze. This was for mom's birthday and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this exactly as written and it was very good. It was not overpoweringly 'alcoholic' which was good b/c we were serving some children. It was moist, flavorful, and just the right amount of 'mocha.' Best of all, EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States