Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I have tried dozens of scratch cake recipes and this is simply the best I've tried. The cake is easy to prepare, the texture is moist and dense, it rises beautifully and has the perfect balance of sweetness. A truly supreme cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I tripled the espresso powder. Reduced sugar by 1/2 cup and used light sour cream instead of buttermilk. This turned out totally moist. Yum! Please be sure not to overfill your pan. Mine overflowed cos I filled it slightly more than 3/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crappu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AJMom
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I have been making this cake for almost 4 years now! It always come out nicely and tastes delicious. I love the ease of the one bowl method. I'm a huge fan of anything mocha and haven't found a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is very easy to make and makes a delicious, moist cake. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this cake for my mom's friends b-day. Some of the people thought it was the best cake they ever had. It is a very good cake for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is a great cake when making a layer cake. The layers come out perfect with no bulging tops and very easy to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
It was a wonderfully moist cake, and all one of my friends said they would buy it! The only thing I changed, really, was the amount of oil. I put less than a 1/4 cup in mine, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Really a great recipe. Very moist. I had no buttermilk or lemon juice or vinegar to sour the milk so I used 1/2 cup of plain yogurt and 1/2 whole milk. Worked great. I also did not have instant coffee (YUK!) So I made an extra strong cup in the press and used that. Came out just fine. Like others said, a very runny batter but do not let that scare you. Bakes up very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Very moist! I only used a half cup of coffee by mistake and I couldn't tell it was there, but I think it did richen the chocolate up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This cake was amazing! It turned our very well. It tasted exactly like the cakes in a fancy restaurant.I topped it with the coffee frosting. A great blend. Very very moist. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H Leblanc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States