Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
It was a wonderfully moist cake, and all one of my friends said they would buy it! The only thing I changed, really, was the amount of oil. I put less than a 1/4 cup in mine, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I tripled the espresso powder. Reduced sugar by 1/2 cup and used light sour cream instead of buttermilk. This turned out totally moist. Yum! Please be sure not to overfill your pan. Mine overflowed cos I filled it slightly more than 3/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crappu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This cake is very good. Very moist and dense. It really doesn't have very much of a mocha flavor even though I doubled the amount of instant coffee. But, it does have a very rich dark flavor. I have other cake recipes that have more of a mocha flavor that I would prefer for a coffee flavored cake. But, I would use this one as a regular chocolate cake, leaving the coffee in it because I do think that it adds depth to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Really a great recipe. Very moist. I had no buttermilk or lemon juice or vinegar to sour the milk so I used 1/2 cup of plain yogurt and 1/2 whole milk. Worked great. I also did not have instant coffee (YUK!) So I made an extra strong cup in the press and used that. Came out just fine. Like others said, a very runny batter but do not let that scare you. Bakes up very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakebuilder
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I added an extra 2 Tbsp of instant coffee (for a total of 3 Tbsp) since others had commented on the lack of coffee flavor and the flavor of the cake turned out great! The cake was a little chewy and dense for me, but others who ate it said that they loved it. I used stabilized whipped cream icing (the kind made with gelatin) and added a Tbsp of instant coffee granlues to the water/gelatin mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakebuilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is very easy to make and makes a delicious, moist cake. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and decorated it with fake autumn leaves. Everyone loved the cake, I am a coffee and chocolate lover so I felt this was the one. I think next time I will add more coffee to it, I really couldn't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this cake for my mom's friends b-day. Some of the people thought it was the best cake they ever had. It is a very good cake for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Very easy cake to make,moist and YUMMY! I added a bit more coffee to get the mocha flavor and a touch of cinnamon at the request of my 9 year old and this very quickly became her favorite cake.Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
The texture of this cake is wonderful, but I can't taste the coffee flavour at all--even though I doubled the amount of coffee. I made the Coffee Icing, as recommended, and the coffee flavour in that surpassed that of the cake. I think this recipe makes a good chocolate cake, but not a mocha one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States