Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Maybe 3 stars is harsh considering I tried to use this recipe for cupcakes. DON'T! The batter wouldn't rise enough, so the cupcakes were flat and then spilled over. They weren't dense enough to hold the cupcake shape either. The only reason I went ahead and gave it 3 stars is because I wasn't impressed with the flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hinds24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very good and I made coffee icing for it! Yummy Cake! I think it would make good cupcakes too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I will use this recipe again. Very good chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
very rich and delicious! i used maybe 2 or 3 tbsp of instant coffee powder. also used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
So easy to make! Moist, delicious and to yummy with a coffee frosting or glaze. Buttermilk is the secret weapon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
So dense and moist and so so perfect. I made the mocha frosting, with a tablespoon of Kahlua added and it was so good I nearly licked the plate! Add in the fact that it's easy to make...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this cake with a few changes and it was absolutely amazing! I used half 100% natural cane sugar and half honey instead of the sugar that the cake called for. I also used 3 tbsp of coffee instead of one. The cake was moist and delicious, and people who ate it literally gaped. I filled it with alternating layers of mocha cream and homemade strawberry jam, and frosted it with caramel frosting. I'll definitely make it again, it was easy and incredible :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This cake is unbelievable! I used melted baking chocolate and omitted cocoa and oil 'cause that's all I had. It turned out devine. It was so moist and decadent that I think I'm going to use this recipe as my secret weapon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Very good - good body to this cake - moist - I used 4 Tbsp. coffee...still no mocha flavor - I used less sugar - instead of buttermilk used 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup l.f. sour cream - I would add 1 cup semisweet choc. chips to the batter next time - this is a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I cut a slice of this cake with the intention of photographing it, tasting it so I could review it, then giving the rest of it to Hubs for dessert, but it didn't work out that way. Hubs had roast chicken for supper and I had...cake. After one taste I just couldn't put the fork down and ended up cleaning the plate to the last "stick to your fork" crumb. After that I just had no desire for my chicken dinner! This cake is everything you'd want a good old-fashioned chocolate cake to be - fluffy, moist and chocolatey. It's just right in every way, just what you'd expect Grandma to put before you with a tall glass of milk. Easy to mix up and satisfyingly delicious, it just doesn't get any better than this. Very much like the "Black Magic Cake" from this site. Instead of the hot water and instant coffee powder I used a cup of strong brewed coffee. (A cup for me and a cup for the cake!). Other than that, I strictly followed the recipe. My 9" layers were done in 28 minutes so watch the time closely! My only criticism of this recipe is that I didn't find simply greasing the pans adequate - I had a little trouble getting the cakes to release from the pans so I'd suggest flouring them as well. I frosted the cake with "Coffee Butter Frosting" which proved to be a perfect choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States