Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Good cake but not as good as the reviews led me to believe. It's the texture, its kind of heavy and dense. I used triple strength french roast coffee with good results and frosted the cake with coffee butter frosting from this site. I had to bake it 15 minutes longer than time stated and it was a moist cake but not the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Overall a very moist cake with good flavor, but it is not perceptibly a "mocha" cake as the recipe claims when prepared as written. I followed the recipe to a T, but put about five HEAPING tablespoons instant coffee into the hot water (due to claims by other reviewers that there was no coffee flavor) and you STILL could not tell this cake was supposed to have a mocha flavor. I even tasted the coffee / hot water mix before adding and it was turn-your-mouth-inside-out bitter, so I hoped that would be sufficient to amp up the coffee flavoring, but no such luck. This basically tastes like a moist chocolate cake, and a good one, but not a mocha cake as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This cake is moist and delicious with a light mocha flavor. I frosted my cake with Coffee Butter Frosting from this site. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookeaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
so impressive! i also used regular coffee instead of instant, and it worked fine. next time, i will use instant coffee with a small amount of boiling water to make a coffee concentrate, and add this as well, or add instant coffee to hot brewed coffee. But, EXCELLENT texture and flavor, came out of pans clean and decorated well. Only one problem, didn't even last one whole day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used extra bold coffee instead of the instant, and also used the mocha icing. This is a huge hit with anyone who walks in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
a very light cake. I followed the recipe except substitute butter milk with sour milk and added a bit more coffee powder, but there was a metallic after taste, and not much flavor in the cake. So this is not my favorite cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This Mocha cake does not taste like mocha at all!I was craving for Mocha Cake. I have a chocolate recipe just like this; the only difference is that it doesn’t have any coffee in it. I put 4 tablespoons and a half of coffee and it still did not taste like Mocha Cake. It still came out yummy . . . for a Chocolate Cake of course. I’ll keep looking for a real Mocha Cake recipe. Thanx anyway for trying though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hahanat
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This cake is SO yummy. It's soft, fluffy with the rich test. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hahanat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
you CAN make cupcakes out of these. Turn the oven down just a tad, 325-330 degrees. fill cupcake liners 3/4 of the way. bake for 13-15 minutes. I used 1 cup cold brew coffee (slow brewed coffee using cold water. ends up being about 4 times as strong as regular coffee.) I think i will use valhrona chocolate next time, it had a good taste. it was not as chocolatey as i thought it would be. the coffee taste was definitely very strong when i tasted the batter, less strong when it was a finished product. i will add more coffee next time. overall, pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cake is so delicious and moist, but I added WAY more instant coffee than called for and it added a barely-there mocha flavor. Iced with coffee frosting from this site, and it was amazing! 4 stars because I had to change the amounts of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States