Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My husband loved this!! Easy to make and delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Wow, I was not expecting such rave reviews from everyone!! I have made sooooo many similar chocolate cakes before, I just thought this one would get a regular average raction. Most said,"this is the ultimate chocoalte cake!!" My brother said it would be perfect for a wedding cake! The texture was so perfect. A slight crisp on the outside, chewy and chocolatey on the inside, yummy! It was very easy to take out of the pans.(I did flour the pans as well). Also very easy to cut each cake in two to make four layers total. I filled two layers with chocolate ganache, and one layer with marshmallow cream cheese icing, and topped with coffee frosting from this site. I did double the coffee but used decaf to make it more child friendly, or suitable for non-coffee drinkers and added a splash of vanilla. The flavour came through perfectly. For a hard to please family, let me tell you, this cake was truly awesome! Thanks for sharing the recipe :) !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This would get five stars for moist and ease, but I'm giving it four because I could barely taste the coffee - and that was after doubling the coffee powder. I used soy milk instead of regular and replaced half of the oil with applesauce; both changes worked well. I frosted it with coffee butter frosting from this site, that helped up the coffee flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great chocolate cake, but I mainly tasted the coffee in the buttercream I topped my cupcakes with. I used only 1 3/4 cups of flour, which produced very moist cupcakes. Next time I will double the coffee powder so I can taste it in the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is a delicious cake recipe. Moist and chocolatey and cooks up well for cupcakes and for cake. I used a Fudge Frosting and infused it with a slight cherry cream flavor. Nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I didn't really taste the coffee flavor in this, or the chocolate much either. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor in general unfortunately. I did like the crumb on this - nice and fluffy. I was surprised at the amount of baking soda/powder & that there wasn't any vanilla. Also, I baked these as cupcakes - the ones that baked on the top rack turned crunchy on the top. I bake cupcakes all the time and this doesn't happen with mine normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Wonderful recipe! With the inevitable modifications... *** -No cocoa powder, so used 1 C of a rich chocolate sauce -Reduced sugar to 1 C to compensate -Used brewed coffee, cut to 3/4 C to compensate for added liquid from the chocolate sauce -Shook in some flax meal to fool myself it's a health food -Used 13x9 pan; cake took around 45 minutes to bake -No icing, just a dusting of powdered sugar. *** Not much mocha flavor, but I did use less coffee than called for. The cake came out perfectly - wonderfully moist, and excellent straight from the pan, no icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was great! I frosted with a baileys icing and it was delicious, people took thirds :-) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Good cake but not as good as the reviews led me to believe. It's the texture, its kind of heavy and dense. I used triple strength french roast coffee with good results and frosted the cake with coffee butter frosting from this site. I had to bake it 15 minutes longer than time stated and it was a moist cake but not the best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Overall a very moist cake with good flavor, but it is not perceptibly a "mocha" cake as the recipe claims when prepared as written. I followed the recipe to a T, but put about five HEAPING tablespoons instant coffee into the hot water (due to claims by other reviewers that there was no coffee flavor) and you STILL could not tell this cake was supposed to have a mocha flavor. I even tasted the coffee / hot water mix before adding and it was turn-your-mouth-inside-out bitter, so I hoped that would be sufficient to amp up the coffee flavoring, but no such luck. This basically tastes like a moist chocolate cake, and a good one, but not a mocha cake as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States