Chocolate Mocha Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very delicious! I used strong brewed espresso instead of the instant coffee and hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I just ate a crumb and I love it already. Used slightly less than a cup of sugar as we don't like our cakes too sweet. Baked in 2 loaf pans as I don't have cakes pans. Baked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
So this started off as a bizarre experiment. I had a 100 mL of coconut milk and about half that amount of coffee decoction, which I mixed together. Wasn't even slightly impressed with the result. Then I chanced upon this recipe, halved it and swapped out the instant coffee mix and buttermilk for my *mistake*. SOOO GOOOOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
The flavor of this cake was terrific, but my batter boiled over while baking! I was a bit concerned when pouring the batter into the pans, because it filled my two 9" cake pans almost all the way to the top. I wondered how it would rise without boiling over, but I read most of the reviews, and no one mentioned having dealt with that problem. But wow, was my oven a mess! I left the rest to bake in the pans for about 37 minutes. The edges turned out a bit crispy on the outside, which was yummy, but the middles fell in. The flavor, however, was terrific - and yes, I did add 1 extra tablespoon of instant coffee as other reviewers had suggested. I will try it again, but next time I think I'll do cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Excellent!! I made this for my boyfriend who loves chocolate and coffee more than anything. He flipped over this cake! Was sooo moist, topped with chocolate mocha frosting from a different recipe. used one third cup strong coffee instead of the instant and it had a great flavor! The frosting recipe I used is also from allrecipes. And again, I substituted strong coffee I stead of the instant! My boyfriend and our guests ate it all up in one night, asking for seconds. Soo good. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
not bad but I ink that if I added coffee to my normal chocolate cake recipe it might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quelchie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chica
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Previous reviewers have described this cake as moist but I'd say its too moist - almost gluey and chewy and you'll definitely have to add more coffee for a stronger mocha flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This recipe has instantly become a favorite. I followed this recipe to bake my first cake in my outdoor wood burning oven! After baking bread, I let the oven cool just a bit. The cake baked beautifully! Great, easy recipe to make a rich chocolate/mocha cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So good! I doubled the amount of coffee. For those who said you couldn't taste the coffee, the main reason you add coffee to a chocolate cake is to intensify the chocolate flavor. This one definitely did taste chocolatey! The edges had a nice crispness to them which we loved. This will now be my go-to chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States