Chocolate Mint Sugar Cookie Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this recipe for years and when we moved I lost it. It has taken me several years to find it; thank you! It is my son's favorite cookie that I make at Christmas time. I now will be able to surprise him this year and mail them to him out in Texas. Thanks again! Delicately minty and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was my family's all-time favorite cookie for Christmas. They would search the grocery stores to try to find the mint chips for me when they became rare and are now extinct. They miss these cookies. I found, though, that you can put 1/4 teas. mint extract in a zip bag with semi-sweet chips for 24 hours and make your own mint chips, so I'll try again this year. The taste is not as good if you just put the mint extract in with the mixture. A few hints for those of you having problems: Do not use all the chips in the cookie mixture; add to the cookies on the sheet, and as needed in the dough. Flatten a little with a glass dipped in sugar for a less sweet taste, but barely flatten. The 1-inch size is okay, but a little bigger is easier to work with and will not over-bake as quickly. DO NOT over-bake; get them out of the oven and off the cookie sheet before they finish baking or they get hard as a rock; under-bake a little, if possible. I rate these a 5 for taste, but a 3 for difficulty. Keep a constant watch while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My kids and I made this as written, and the finished product is delicious! They are easier to handle when chilled, that's for sure. We used a 2 Tbs. scoop to drop them onto the sheets, instead of rolling them, and just had to manage some escape chips a bit. Very tasty, I don't miss the butter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angicals
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I really enjoy these! They are quite sweet, and it was a little difficult to keep the chocolate chips in the dough, but overall, they were excellent! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and they seemed to work just fine. I had to bake them for 12-15 minutes, because I made them a little larger than walnut size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
these were so tasty. They were sweet enough, so i didnt roll the in sugar. Also, i didnt have mint chips. So i used semisweet chips and added mint extract. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
mmm... Very delicious! I substituted 3/4 C of butter for the oil. Might I say, it was very delectable. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydvicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is the exact same recipe that I've been making for many years. It's one of the best holiday cookies that I know of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were good, however I recommend using only one cup of chocolate chips - it was really hard to work in the the full two cups, I ended up taking out about half of them. Also, note that the cookies will retain their shape. I flattened them with my palm before baking them. Also, put 1 tsp of mint extract in place of using the mint chocolate chips, just used regular chocolate chips instead. All in all, one good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These cookies were interesting to make, I don't think I ever made cookies with oil and I don't think I ever will again. They were really too soft to roll into ball and after baking the first tray they got really sticky. I found they tasted more like a weird cake then cookies. Sorry but I don't think I'll make these again, probably just make my regular chocolate chip cookies and add the mint chocolate chips. Oh and I got 72 cookies using a tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
These cookies are OK. I took someone elses suggestion and only used 2/3 cup oil, if making them again I would use the full 3/4 cup. I also substituted in almond extract for the vanilla. The cookies don't really spread out when baking, so I flattened them a little bit with a glass. As far as taste goes, these are great. They are a pretty light, delicate cookie. I'd probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States