Chocolate Mint Sugar Cookie Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
If you like Andes Mints or Mint Choc. Chip Ice Cream ~ You'll love these! In fact, Andes Mints makes their own mint baking chips - which I used and highly recommend (found next to the toffee bits and M&M's in your grocery store). I don't think you need 2c of them though - somewhere between 1 to 1 1/2 cup should be fine (start w/ one cup and add more to taste and texture). However, I did use the full two cups and found these cookies extremely minty *which doesn't make them bad...I'll just cut back next time. However, when I pulled them out of the oven, these cookies had a uncooked (whitish/green tint) look to them. I was worried...who would eat these? They don't even look cooked. Then I got an idea I used on another cookie - I melted some chocolate almond bark (just a couple sqaures of it) and with my spoon, lightly drizzled chocolate criss-crossing over the top. Not only did they look fabulous but tasted great. Any true choc. mint lover can appreciate these cookies. Even my boyfriend who isn't so fond of chocolate mint had his share over the holidays. I'll make these again and again...using my changes or additions. Thanks a ton Clare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
These are so good--and healthier without the butter! Instead of mint chocolate chips (which I couldn't find), I used regular choc. chips with a few drops of McCormick's Mint Extract. mmmmmmmmm! My coworkers love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NoTakeoutForMe
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I've made this recipe for cookie exchanges for years. I prefer making the recipe with butter instead of oil, and I roll the dough into balls and coat them lightly with sugar before baking. The resulting cookie is delicious, and goes really well with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoTakeoutForMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatlesFan1964

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are soo delicious! They smell great when they are baking, the whole house had a chocolaty minty smell. I had never made cookies with oil before and was a bit skeptical, especially because the batter seemed kind of liquid when it was all together. I chilled it for a little while and then baked for 10 minutes. I agree with the previous reviewer who felt these were very light. Mine were perfectly done and they were very light. I did not dust them with sugar before baking, it's the only thing I changed about the recipe. I absolutely loved these and they will be added to my recipe box permanently. Thanks for an awesome recipe, Clare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Not a big hit. The oil made the dough really greasy and I found it hard to keep the chips in the dough. Not bad, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I made this recipe because I bought mint chocolate chips and wanted to try them. I did not like how sweet the cookies were. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Great cookie. My favorite ice cream has always been mint chocolate chip and these cookies taste just like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe sounded great because we really wanted cookies and didn't have enough butter left. The dough tasted a little boring, but I figured that was just me being used to butter taste. I ended up having to bake these for almost twenty minutes to get them to a "done" apppearance and taste. They didn't make a cookie shape at all, just stayed how I baked them. Even with a sugar coating, these cookies tasted like boring bread with random chocolate chips. As another review said, it was like the dough was a holder for the chips. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is the exact same recipe that I've been making for many years. It's one of the best holiday cookies that I know of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States