Chocolate Mint Mayonnaise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Wow, this is a really great base recipe for any chocolate cake. I did add a tsp of peppermint extract to the batter and instead of layering the thin mints, I crushed them and put them into the batter, but that's just a matter of taste and ease (I was making cupcakes, per the special request of a friend). Super-moist and delicious; thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I needed to make cupcakes so I followed the recipe exactly(except added some choc chips) but put a junior mint in each one. Found it best after some trial and error to put in 1/2 a scoop of batter, lay on the mint and cover it w/ batter. They sink much less than pushing it down in after completely filling the cup. If they sink, just throw a few choc chip in the indentation while warm so you have an even surface to frost. Piped on some PEPPERMINT(hint-always use peppermint extract-much more subtle-mint extract makes everything taste like toothpaste) buttercream frosting, drizzled them w/ melted chips and finished them w/ an Andes mint stuck in the icing-very rich but a huge hit-looked like they came from the cupcake store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I did not care for this. the cake itself was too dry and not very good. did not try to make the icing because of the reviews on it. the only reason i am giving this 2 stars is because of the creamy melted mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My family uses Miracle Whip, not real mayonnaise, which is probably why my cake turned out SUPER dense and T-H-I-C-K! So if you're doing this, i'd recommend maybe adding an egg to fluff it up a tad? It's a pretty good cake, not one of my absolute favourites, though. And also, in the pan, the cake really doesn't spread, so make sure you spread it evenly beforehand! I only had to bake it for 18 minutes and it was fully done, probably perfect time.. used York patties in the middle since i couldn't find Andes mints anywhere (weird!) and iced it with "Mint Buttercream Frosting" from another recipe. My brothers liked it, but weren't 100% gaga over it (they're true mint/chocolate fans)... i'm not sure if i would make it again, but it was pretty darn good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
The cake turned out really pretty, and the batter tasted really good, but the cake was just not tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe nerd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
i dont get how to make it its hard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krismrich
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I just used the base cake recipe and made it in a Christmas Tree bundt pan then didn't use the mint or the frosting- I just dusted it with powdered sugar. It rose well, but it tasted a lot like baking soda, so you really do need some sort of frosting or glaze to take away from that. Otherwise it was very chocolatey, just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
So moist and delicious!! It broke in half though so careful putting on plate. The icing was very very runny, like a glaze...but it was so good anyway, lots of compliments. Made for Johns Birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. It wasnt very fluffy and the cake was chewy and the flavor wasnt good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Cannot believe I forgot to rate this. I have made this more than once and LOVE IT. I get nothing but rave reviews on it, people always tell me that it looks like it came from a bakery. I add chocolate mints to the frosting while I am baking to give it that extra mint kick and then sprinkle with jimmies (chocolate sprinkles for those not from mass!!) to make it look nice... what a cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States