Chocolate Mint Dessert Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
These were a great hit! After reading some other reviews, I made a regular brownie mix and used the topping from this recipe. I substituted 1 tsp. of peppermint extract for the creme de menthe and had no problem melting the chocolate chips down in the microwave. I'll definately be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have a recipe from my mom that's exactly the same as this except that the mint filling uses 3/4 tsp mint extract and 1 tbs water instead of creme de menthe, since my family does not drink alcohol. These brownies are amazing and my coworkers insist that I bring them to every potluck! The brownie part is super moist and dense (much different than a box mix!) and the mint cream is very flavorful without being overpowering. Both the brownie part and the chocolate topping add a nice chocolate flavor without being too sweet (if you use semi-sweet chips in the chocolate topping) and are a perfect balance to the mint cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
The only reason I didn't give these a 5 is that the brownie part wasn't so good. It doesn't really taste like chocolate and is pretty bland and chewy in an odd way and tastes like if you bake a brownie mix with apple sauce and fake eggs instead of the real stuff. But of course there was all that fat in it so it's not fair! :o) BUT, the mint part (I used 3 teaspoons of mint extract and a few drops of green food coloring) and the chocolate covering were excellent. Next time I'll just make a different brownie recipe, but use the same topping. Also, a bit of advice about the chocolate chips: I think they've changed the recipe for them, because it is IMPOSSIBLE for me to melt chocolate chips in the microwave or on top of the stove without it seizing!!! Even if the water's not boiling, or the power setting on the microwave is .1 and I check it every 5 seconds, it still seizes up. It just doesn't make sense because when I was little, I never had problems melting them. So what I did is get a big bowl of very warm water from the faucet (not so hot that it hurts to stick your hand in it) and put a little metal bowl with the chocolate chips and butter in the water and stirred it until it melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
My five star rating is only for the mint filling and chocolate topping because I used a box for the brownies. ~ I used an 8x8 pan so mine were thick and after making them a few times, decided for my small pan they are better when I cut the frosting in half! If you are substituting mint extract use very little; start with 1/4 tsp with 2 T of milk to make it cream together. Too much mint makes it taste like toothpaste! Green food coloring gives it a minty look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
SOOOO Good!!! I added 1/4 tsp salt and one tsp vanilla to the brownie mix, and didn't have creme de menthe so I used 1 tsp mint extract. I made a batch of the mint frosting with 3 tsps mint extract as someone suggested, and that was WAY too much. Tasted like toothpaste! Otherwise this is a top notch recipe! Tastes so good & it just melts in your mouth! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetmenot060903

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nome, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Oh my goodness...these are sooo good!! And so easy to make. I just bought the store brownie mix and then made the topping with the peppermint extract. If the frosting is too lumpy to spread, just add a little water to make it a little thinner. I also used melted milk chocolate chips as the top layer. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Fantastic! I made these for a potluck at work, and everyone raved about them and wanted the recipe. I substituted a brownie box mix and used 1 tsp. peppermint extract instead of the creme de menthe. Takes a little planning to account for the cooling steps, but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
excellent moist brownie with a minty topping. i used mint chocolate chips for the final layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This recipe was great with the help of the reviewers! I made a boxed brownie mixed and then followed the recipe as directed and it was amazing. I made it for a dinner party and everyone is begging for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I especially liked the minty topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States